A night of Visual Insanity with my long time friend

in #music7 years ago

6.jpg
This is my college room mate Utkarsh Agrawal, people call hi UT. He is a visual artist of sorts and a professional Projection Mapping guy. Yesterday night for the first time in our lives he decided not to drink at a club but teach me a thing or two about live visual shows.

Projection Mapping is a simple science. You need a source , a surface and a computer.
Projecter being the source, your surface could be anything - Sunboards,MDF (Micro Density Fibers), White Sheets etc. etc.
The computer with a software like photoshop or paint ( if you want to keep things frugal) helps you "map" the shape of your plane so that you can project on it.
Easier said than done. People like Deadmau5 have been known for projecting on skyscrapers. Us mere mortals who do club gigs do projections on surfaces.
Although my friend UT who I am currently selling the idea of Steemit to, has been known for doing shows for brands like Jagermeister and some elite whisky brands !

The software that we use is Resolume Arena. After he was done giving me a crash course at "Anti-Social" I went on and played my own first ever Visual gig at "The Daily" - if you can believe that !!

Here we are setting up the surface where the projection is supposed to be mapped.

1.jpg
5.jpg
Thats UT setting things up on resolume.

7.jpg

This is what our final visuals looked like.
4.jpg
3.jpg

PS: I would love to share with you guys how theses thing look in action
any tips on how to post video on steemit ? or do i just have to post a link to youtube?

Sort:  

Looks like so much fun!
I am sure UT is going to buy the idea of Steemit from you very soon.

Yeah but he is quite lazy :D

Not more than you! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68