The Nature Of A Musical Man -- Or Woman

in #music6 years ago

It's a bit odd to me, but maybe I'm a little old fashioned, but I have never encountered the level of people threatened by others who are trying to succeed by working hard in their hobby.

I am of course, referring to someone who offers their services as a recording engineer. Let us set the stage....

A friend of the family came into an inheritance, and then had the means to fulfill a lifelong dream of making a recording studio. Perhaps I should back up a step first:

I, myself, and my circle of family and friends are musical in many aspects of our lives. And so, when one of us fell into some money we all knocked our heads together and came up with the idea to start a recording studio. The primary goal, not to make money, but to have a means to record and produce OUR OWN music. As the idea evolved, it turned into making it a viable business so that the music habit could support itself.

Now we're back on track.

Call us naive if you must, but we invited every single person we could find to join up with us, network with us, come to weekly meetings to offer input and ideas. Our goal is to be a hub to help people of like mind network, share, join forces. Any guy with a home studio in his closet or basement was invited to come share their ideas and insights. We asked SEVERAL of them to become our engineers, never asking or requiring them to give up their own endeavors, but to share in our 3000+ sq. ft. space and be a part of "the family."

Now enter the devil...

It was odd to us that some would come the meeting and act and say things to indicate they are on board and interested, but then we'd see this concerted effort on their part to push their own endeavors online. Soonafter some directly attacked us as having inferior gear compared to studios in other towns a couple hours away. Mind you we're the only recording studio in this town, no others at all.

They make jabs online about our price, jabs about our gear, jabs about not having as good looking a studio as others. Studios that aren't even theirs, they'd go out of their way to raise them up and push us down.

I've been in the recording realm myself going on 30 years, and I don't typically brag about it. But when a guy claims tha the gear is what makes a good recording I just have to call B.S. I have heard better recordings on a cassette tape than on an album that cost more than 10k because of the quality of the person running the gear. It's how you use it, not the cost of it that makes a good recording.

What I don't understand, and please help me understand this: Why would they do this? I assure you we did or said nothing but positive remarks to any of them from the very beginning. The owner of the studio has let guys in there that you would cringe at once you got to know them. We've already had to learn the hard way because we've been far too lax letting almost anyone walk in the door and ask to be involved; Those that want to anyway.

I honestly believe I know the answer, but if the situation were reversed and I was the one who didn't get to be in on it, but was invited to the meetings and invited to be a part of it, I honestly believe that I'd be supportive of the project even if I chose to walk away from it.

If I had never met any of these folks, and just learned that a studio opened in my town I would be interested to see them do well because its a local business for one thing, and it can meet needs that guys who run studios in their closets can't.

OK, so this post is more of a whine and a rant about some, but I havn't had this kind of odd behavior in my own business of IT. In fact the IT companies in my town are all pretty respectful and supportive of each other. We all recognize that there is plenty of business to go around and that we all have our strong points to each other. Very different behavior.

So what say ye community of the world? What is your opinion and input BlockChain enthusiast?

I want to know.

"Control! Control! I need Control"
"This is control."
"No not you, I mean control myself!"
~Max Headroom -20 minutes into the future

Sort:  

More Than you Can Think

Get 20 upvotes and 10 followers only for join the site.
The 20 upvotes worth 1SBD so why wait get it quickly before the campaign over.
CLICK HERE TO JOIN

I don't know man, this seems kind of spammy to me. Is this a violation of the TOS here?

Congratulations @americangeek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54