You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dtube Exclusive - My Immortal by Evanescence (Piano Cover)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

... I don't want to 'be' a hater. And believe me I'm not.
I also live with the 'live and let live' idea. But I think everyone could grow. And if music is really what you want to do for the rest of your life (if not just ignore this post). Then I need to say this:

You look like an amazing girl with a lot of guts. I acknowledge you for that, really. I watched other videos of you and I can see you rock! But, your singing is really out of tune. And voices don't have to be perfect and polished. Jeff buckley's voice wasn't polished, he sang out of tune some times but damn what a great musician! Your emotion in the song? I just don't feel it. It just doesn't feel genuine.

I'm a bit suprised all these people support you.
I think You have an interesting voice which can keep on growing with the right practise. If you try to find it's authenticall sound you would sound amazing. I had the same when I was younger, I tried to copy other voices 'caus I liked them. I sounded a bit too clean and nasal. What I mean to say is you're holding back.
I can just feel it. Maybe standing up would help.
Not thinking about the camera all the time too.
You're way to busy pleasing your audience.
You could put that effort in really connecting with your body and your sound. I don't want to hurt you. I really hope this comment can be constructive after a while. (like some tough love). I know you're powerfull on steemit and a lot of people probably like and compliment you so they get likes back.

I know that what I'm doing is very risky now. I don't know if there are is a policy for being honest but sharp... I should probably make an extra account to do stuff like this -.-

Sort:  

I feel the genuine nature of your comment, and so I don’t take offense to your constructive feedback. I have never claimed to be some amazing singer, and I am honestly grateful every time I post a music cover when people seem to enjoy it. Before joining Steemit, I had never posted any music publically…and it honestly really scared me. I took a risk and joined the Steemit Open Mic Competition and I was shocked at how kind people were. It really encouraged me to keep going.

By posting music more regularly here on Steemit… I have actually seen HUGE improvements in both my vocal and musical abilities. This is something I’m honestly really proud of. I am a work in progress, and YES, I have things to work on vocally – but that doesn’t mean that people can’t still enjoy the music, or that I shouldn’t continue to grow and share my journey.

The only thing I really did find offensive in your comment was saying that…

I know you’re powerful on steemit and a lot of people probably like and compliment you so they get likes back.

This is essentially saying that these people are being “fake” and the only reason they have complimented my music videos is to get likes back. Many of the people who still comment and follow along with my music posts are those who have supported me from the beginning… even when I had a low reputation and no steem power. Were those people being fake in supporting me then too… when I had nothing to offer them back, exception for friendship?

I honestly do think that there is space for constructive feedback and I don’t fault you for giving it.

I'm really happy you don't take offense.. I was really doubting to say this. I doin't want to rain on anyones parade. You look like a warm person... I have to pick my battles. But the fact that I'm saying these things is because I think you got something very interesting and have great potential. I know that saying people compliment you to get likes back is an overstatement of what I was thinking. 'Caus I do think people act this way, in public or on social media. That's why I said a lot of people and not all people. I think your journey is something amazing. And I respect your boldness for just going for it. I wasn't lying when I said that you have the capability to become a great singer. Anyways, I hope you just keep on going. And this makes you just more stronger then you even were before.

Regards and a lot of luck in everything you do! I really mean it.
the lover that looks and sounds like a hater at first

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72