Woke AF HipHop Playlist #1

in #music7 years ago (edited)

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised.

So I usually do these soundtracks as posts on Instagram but I thought I'd start an on-going post on here where I can actually include links to the music videos.

Are you part of the woke movement? Are you a truth-seeker? These songs are the perfect back drop for the revolution. 

As a broke kid growing up in the early 90's it's no surprise I'm a fan of rap and hip-hop. Many look at today's world of crap rap and hip-pop and think there is nothing real or intelligent in the whole genre.. you've never been more wrong. Take a listen to today's choices:

Tupac - Starin Through My Rearview

Starting off this playlist with this Woke MF. Pac was ahead of his time in so many ways. He wanted to unite the people and save the ghettos. He believed in power to the people and knew these greedy fucks would one day own us all if we don't fight back. 

"If you ain't knowin what we mean by saying staring through my rearview.. let me bring a better understanding. The world, the world is behind us. Once a mothafucka get an understanding on the game, and what the levels and the rules of the game is.. then the world ain't no trick no more.. the world is a game to be played." 

Low Key ft. M1 and Black the Ripper - ObamaNation Part 2 

if you haven't heard the original you need to check that out too.

"First black president, the masses were hungry..but that same president just bombed an African country?"


Immortal Technique - It's a Rich Man's World

honestly, Tech is an impressive lyricist and I put at least one of his tracks on every soundtrack I build. This song was actually the first song that came on the morning I heard Trump had won the vote... no better explaination.

"New money buys brand new carats. My old money bought your great-grandparents. You got grills in ya mouth, I ain't mad at ya...I own every goldmine in South Africa." 


Mos Def - The Rape Over

Don't let the name throw you off, this has NOTHING to do with women. Mos Def dedicates his Dub on Jay Z's The Takeover to the shady music industry and the gatekeepers of the sexual predation going on within mainstream music/

"Old white men are running this rap shit. Corporate force is running this rap shit. That tall Israeli is running this rap shit. You poke out your asses for a chance to cash in." 


Vinnie Paz - You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train

Named after the amazing documentary by Howard Zinn - You can't be neutral on a moving train is one of my all time favorite tracks from Vinnie Paz. It's a flash back through American history - from Columbus to today. 

"The war was over but they didn't learn their lesson. Twin tactics of control: Reform and Repression.The patriotic fervor of war had been invoked. That's why the country that we live in is a fuckin joke."


 Sage Francis - Makeshift Patriot

A glance into 9-11 - the conspiracies, the real people affected, and all those makeshift patriots... 

"I use opportunities to pluck heartstrings for theme music. I'll show you which culture to pump your fist at, which foot is right to kiss. We don't really know who the culprit is yet, but he looks like this."

Brother Ali - Uncle Sam Goddamn

He has a ton of great tracks for free thinkers and truthers. This is one of my favorites from him.

"Welcome to the United Snakes. Land of the thief, home of the slaves."


Now a few non-political songs because being woke isn't just about seeing behind the curtain, it's also about knowing what's inside you and empowering the collective. Being woke is about awakening to the people in your life, loving them for who they are and accepting their paths and struggles. You can't be woke and alone - in waking we realize we are one :)


The Fire - The Roots

The Roots are a hiphop staple and this is one is just as the title says Fire. Unleash your potential with this track.

"Something in my eyes says I'm so close to having the prize, I realize I'm supposed to reach for the skies.. never let somebody try and tell you otherwise."


B.o.b - Both of Us

This one may have been a mainstream music hit but don't let the "pop" mislead you, this one is a gem. 

"cause if life is an uphill battle, we all tryna climb up the same old ladder, in the same boat with same old paddle, why so shallow? I'm just asking. Where's the pattern to the madness?"  


Macklemore - Glorious

Macklemore is one talented artist. It's a feel good vibe with awesome and empowering lyrics.

"Things are just things they don't make you who you are. Can't pack up a U-HAUL and take it with you when your gone."


Sharing is caring! Love any of these? Share them with others! 

Shake 'em & Wake 'em!


Sort:  

WOKE A.F.!!!!!!!!!

@defjunkie thanks! building another as we speak. hope you'll check it out.

will do ...........maybe include pharoahe monch -agent orange .................and some mo dead prez

Yes we are totally on the same wave length. Agent orange definitely will make the cut. Always got room for dead prezidents lol once you start making playlists you cant stop thinking of who or what you left out

Great post but it is definitely missing some Rage Against The Machine!!! was an entertaining read non the less thank you for sharing! upvoted and followed

Thank you! I'll be sure to include them on my next playlist!

many thanks my friend!

I am missing Rage Against The Machine's Bombtrack on this list. Otherwise an excellent compilation to fight the power with.

It's our open-source rebellion.

Yes! I always end up leaving out something great with each playlist face palm I'm planning to post more playlists. I wont forget them next time!
Thanks for checking it out and commenting.

My pleasure, your contributions are most worthy.
You know, I think a regular curated playlist thing would be great. As an old punkrocker and music journalist I'm always happy to discover good music.

Thanks! I love all types of music too. I think I'll do a bunch in all different genres. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57