You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voices from the Front – a story of Gallipoli

in #music7 years ago

Wonderful article Deb. Loved the video.

I was only about 10 when my grandfather died of a WW1 related heart condition. I didn't find out until the passing of his wife, my grandmother, when my father spoke about his father at the service, just what a wonderful man he was. What I would give to be able to talk to him now: At one time the only survivor of about 300 men, who had to go on some sort of senseless mission.

The only time he ever spoke about his experiences 'in the trenches' was to my father, who as a very young 'lad' wanted to enlist for the 'second world war.' My grandfather felt the need to set him straight about the 'glories' of war.'

Sort:  

It's sad, isn't it, that sometimes at funerals we find out things we never knew about people, and realise how little we knew them. There must have been an entire generation who just never spoke of what they went through.

Has never been a time when I have't come away from a service feeling like that Deb. Each and every one of us has an incredible story to tell. Yes, not just my grandfather's generation but many of my father's as well, kept their stories close to their chest. Pity there wasn't a STEEMIT long ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85