Last Christmas I ...

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Sometime ago a friend told me that there was a place in the Netherlands with a replica of Saint Peter’s Basilica in Rome. I was surprised to hear that to say the least. My surprise was even bigger since my spouse didn’t hear about it either.

In Oudenbosch the Basilica H.H. Agatha And Barbara is a 1:6 replica of the most famous church in the world.

A Christmas concert was going to take place on the Basilica so we decided to go there. We were in Rome last year so we still had “fresh” memories of the original structure.

The place was a truly remarkable homage to Saint Peter’s Basilica. It was an interesting experience, specially since the place was crowded for the concert and yet a sense of space and opulence was overwhelming.

The concert was also great, an Romanian choir singing Christmas classics performed by a Ukrainian symphonic orchestra.

Sometimes we don’t know the jewels around us. A beautiful surprise and an even bigger lesson about awareness and openness for what is so close and yet hidden by our modern lifestyle.

Posted using Partiko iOS


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Wow, I had never heard of there being a replica, either! Interesting!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 6.46% upvote from us for your 1460 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Where do you live, @alfonzo?

I live in a small town close to Arnhem on the east of the Netherlands @cryptospa, you? I’ve seen your reports and fotos of your city but I don’t know which it might be ...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86