Personal thoughts 1. "Do you really need an expensive equipment to make music? Nature of music production."

in #music7 years ago
Fender Stratocaster

Do you really need an expensive equipment to make music?

Short answer : No!

Long answer: 

I used to make music on an iPod touch. Yes. An iPod Touch. 

I would connect my guitar to my iPod through Apogee Jam and just... play. 

(That's one of the tracks I made using my iPod Touch)

Why did I not care whether it was perfect or not?  

It's simple, really. For me music is about expressing yourself. It's about expressing you as a person. It even describes who you are!

When I am sad, I play blues. When I am happy, I generally just jam around, playing a simple funk riff or a rock riff. Because why not?  

Now: there are people that will tell you that only technique matters. It is nice to be able to play extremely fast, and wow everybody. But what for? What's the point?

To be fully honest with you, when I hear Joe Satriani shredding I sure feel amazed, but not by his music, but rather by his ability to play so fast. That's not the point of playing an instrument though.

The point of music, is to move people, change their feelings, puzzle them, impress with the uniqness of your composition. This can be achieved on a guitar that costs $500, and $5,000. If your instrument is in tune, and ears don't bleed because of it, it's okay. Don't you worry with the people that think that music can be produced only using Pro Tools, on a Mac Pro only with the most expensive equipment there is.


Of course, I am not promoting mediocrity. I am only encouraging you not to blindly follow the crowd of moths flying towards an imminent burnout.

If there's anything that I want you to remember after reading this post, it's that it's your idea that matters, not money. Money just makes everything easier. But it won't do anything for you. In fact nothing or nobody will.



Check out my steemit blog
Follow me on Twitter!
Sort:  

I am guitar player and i choose good quality of guitar before playing.. why? because low class guitar don't sound good only 40/60% sounds perfect you are lucky if you found a cheap guitar with good sound. mid class guitar on the other hand is better...

I play my mid-class strat and using the right strings and the right amp settings you can do wonders

Wow! I'm really impressed with the guitar tone especially, on your soundcloud track. I agree, super expensive gear is not a must to express yourself musically. If you look at a group like The White Stripes, I believe I read somewhere that their first album was made with a very low budget. Now they're pretty much a part of rock history forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36