You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some of my favorite songs... fasten your seat belt.

in #music7 years ago

Excellent choices from a true classic bands! I would go something like Heart collector, Burden, Pull me under if I had to choose from them (although I never was the biggest Dream Theater fan).

Sort:  

Pull Me Under is their most RADIO WORTHY song. Yet there are so many I like more. It depends upon what I am trying to show. I usually share the Instrumedley from Live at Budokhan as that is mind melting.

Yup, when you're not that familiar with the band you usually know what's most popular. I remember listening to that live back in the day. Masterpiece!

For Opeth I included a live version of Face of Melinda in one of the comments here. I underrated that song. I caught them live a few years ago (Touring for Heritage) and they did that song and the part where it transitions from mellow to heavier... that was pretty epic live. It had chills running up and down my back at that point. That moshcam one I shared in the comments is the closest to that experience... it's pretty mellow, but man does it get a nice kick.

Their mellow to heavy transitions are epic. Blackwater park and Damnation, two of my favorite albums from them, yet so different. Have you listened to Agalloch?

No I've heard the name Agalloch before... didn't Warrel Dane do some guest vocals with them?

I don't think he did. It's an American band, they create such an amazing atmosphere, combining variety of influences. Check out albums like The Mantle or Ashes against the grain. Unfortunately, they ceased to exist a year or so ago.

Interesting techniques... at first I was going to say I think they need to increase the vocal mix a bit... then I changed my mind... it kind of grows on ya.

Exactly! They do it on purpose to create this quiet mellow but harsh winter atmosphere. It's mesmerizing once you get used it.

Yeah I checked and Warrel didn't guest vocal. He is an American Vocalist though he's guest been guest vocalists with other american and outside of american bands. Though you are right Agalloch doesn't seem to be one of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30