90s Weekend: Just Kick It Selection 1

in #music6 years ago (edited)

90s.jpg

I’ve always been an advocate of the ‘work hard, play hard’ philosophy.

And since my days as a student, journalist, radio broadcaster, PR agent and now business owner, there‘s been one consistent theme in my life - 90s r&b!

So much so that in 2013 I launched Just Kick It - a monthly, classic 90s rnb party based in London’s popular party district Shoreditch.

JKI.jpg

The event’s name derives from US r&b group Xscape’s first single, Just Kickin It, which was co-written by Jermaine Dupri in 1992.

Just Kick It was targeted at multicultural, young professionals who were old skool music lovers looking for a place to let their hair down with their besties.

The night was about having fun and connecting with a like-minded community; as opposed to making money.

JKI2.jpg

The event ran for three years before I put it on sabbatical to concentrate on building AB2020.

But my love for the music reigns on. And in its dedication, every weekend I’ll aim to post a Just Kick It selection featuring 3 tracks from my iTunes playlist - for you to hopefully enjoy as much as I do ; )

90s Weekend: Just Kick It Selection 1

Usher - You Make Me Wanna

Aaliyah - Back and Forth

Toni Braxton - You’re Makin’ Me High

Sort:  

We are one in the same. My old school RnB go to is No Diggity by black Street. I'm here in the states but if the party ever makes a return Iight just have to fly across the pond and check it out!

I like that one too @thedfsadvisor. I am already singing it at the moment:)

We definitely are. Blackstreet are legends! Will dedicate that one to you next week! 💃🏽

Nice classic songs.....

Usher is a very good singer I like him a lot.
90s rock dough. Thank you for sharing

Yesss, the 90s will rule forever! Lol

Hes one of my favourite artiste..Usher.Music is wjat l really build my world around.thanks @ak2020

Same here. Usher is a living legend ; )

Work hard play harder has always been my whole thing. Looks like you really love what you do. It comes through loud and clear 💹 Keep up the good work I'm here for you. 💪

I truly do. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84