A Listening Experiment - #14: What music gives you the chills?

in #music7 years ago

Addicted to Music - The chills are real

I'd love to know what records do it for you!

This is a follow up post in which i would love to know which tunes give fellow Steemians the chills.

music-brain.jpg
image source

The initial post discusses why certain songs give that tingling feeling and can make the hairs on your arms stand on end. Included in the blog are some records that do it for me.

Take a look at the introductory post.

Today's chilling encounter

Artist: Massive Attack
Track: Hymn of the Big Wheel
Album/CD: Blue Lines
Genre: Downtempo / Trip-hop
Released: 1991
First heard: 1997 (age 18)
Chills: 1:05 and many more times throughout!

It took 6/7 years from the release of this album for me to hear it for the first time, a kind friend lent it to me at University. It's a brilliant first album from Massive attack, and for me, they saved the best track until last on the CD. A message about the world and the how it will return to glory, with or without us.

There's a hole in my soul like a cavity
Seems like the world is out to gather just by gravity
The wheel keeps turning the sky's rearranging
Look my son the weather is changing

I'd like to feel that you could be free
Look up at the blue skies beneath a new tree
Sometime again
You'll turn green and the sea turns red
My son I said the power of axis over my head

As previously, I'd like to hear about the music that does it for you. Please comment with your chilling experiences below and if you can remember the time you first heard the track, how old you were, and at what point in the song the chills hit, this would all be great information to share.

Thanks for reading, and listening today!

Asher

1.gif

Sort:  

About 5 seconds for the chills on this one! Thank you!!

Should I go on ?? I got a few more seconds for you.
BTW Saw Massive Attack in Berkley, maybe 4/5 years ago and just WOW and Tricky alone , back in the late 90's in Manhattan.
Nice choice and song

Lucky you! Yeah a may go with a Tricky track from Blow-back at some point. Save them for another time or you may end up stealing my thunder, seems we could have similar taste/genre!

Thanks again for the vote/comment/song!

Moderat - Reminder

Gave me the chills at 1:10

A new track to me, thanks!

Ooo some breakbeat action, I can see this one growing on me. Thanks for commenting!

Happy I showed you something new! You're welcome!.

The Smashing Pumpkins' Thru the Eyes of Ruby, it starts with a piano, but then the opening guitar riff kicks in, and it's just amazing!

Which album is that on? I did play a lot of Siamese Dream and could select a couple from that CD too. I'll give it a listen, thanks for commenting!

Mellon Collie...disc #2

I posted about it a while back here on steemit:

Silent Strike: "It's not safe to turn off your computer"

Goose Bumps at 1:35

Trippy beats and fairly bizarre video. Pretty cool after 1:35 bringing the track back in slowly, cheers!

Congratulations @abh12345! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 2.18 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @abh12345.

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :)

great! thanks!


This post got a 9.68 % upvote thanks to @abh12345 - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69