Learning how to play guitar

in #music7 years ago

I first learned my first chord progression when I was only 13 years old. I practice those same chords for almost a year before I started to play covers. The first songs I learned was by the band Blink 182. I'm sure a lot of you guys have heard of them. It wasn't until I learned their songs from front to back that I started to move onto other bands like Greenday to dashboard confessionals. It's been fun learning how to play their songs because it's always a good way to connect with people with songs that they either heard on the radio or listen to on their own time.

Screen Shot 2017-08-16 at 9.07.00 AM.png

Learning the guitar has always been a great way to relieve stress. It was stressful at first but once I could pick up the guitar and play for hours until my fingers started to get calloused was when I knew that this was something I can actually say I was good at. I wasn't that great at things. I was never a track star because of my asthma and I wasn't able to join the basketball team because of my height. It wasn't until I realized that there are things that I just wasn't physically capable to doing that led me to be great at things that I could actually be good at.

Practicing the guitar was something I could always do on my free time as well. When most of my friends were either at school or doing their own thing. I was always at home practicing the guitar. What started off as a hobby became something that I could utilize as a form of expression and art.

My guitar progressed from playing covers to actually creating songs. Deep down in my core, I am an artist. I was never good at school because it was something that took time and energy. Playing the guitar, to me, is something that I could actually flow with and create. There is no one to tell you that what you are doing is wrong. That is one of the most liberating feelings.

Throughout school you are always graded on how punctual you are. If you place a comma at the wrong place, you are graded on that. If your math is off then you are graded on that as well.

Playing the guitar is different because you are constantly learning new things and new techniques. With that techniques that you learn, you are able to create music with others that have the same passion as you. You begin to collaborate and share the techniques that you have learned as well.

Life is about sharing and enjoying each and every moment.

If you feel like there is something you aren't good at. It's okay to quit.

Don't believe people when they say that you shouldn't quit. Quitting allows you to find something you are going to be good at.

If you aren't good at something, it's okay to learn something else and become great at that.

Sort:  

interesting..

Thank you!

wow! thanks for your upvote!

Anytime!

WOWWWWWWW

please stop! =)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83