The Kraftwerk Gig That Was Nearly Banned

in #music8 years ago (edited)

The last time I saw Kraftwerk performing live was on my 17th birthday. In Europe tickets to their shows are usually sold out in seconds. So I was very happy that my friends Camila and Rodolfo organised tickets for their gig in Buenos Aires on November 23d for me.

But when I arrived in Buenos Aires, I read in the news that their gig in Buenos Aires would be banned. I couldn't believe it!

The reason: After a techno rave in April which left six people dead due to "overcrowding, poor ventilation and lack of access to water", the mayor of Buenos Aires banned all electronic musical events in which synthesizers or samplers are the main instruments.

Media around the world reported about this bizarre decision. How could a politican dare to ban a concert of the most influential band since the Beatles because of a badly organised Techno party? 

I was about to call the German embassador. Or the British Army, who has some experience in teaching stupid Argentinian politicians to behave.

Fortunately, a judge with some common sense lifted the ban. The gig could take place, what a relief! I invited my friend Florencia to join me for this 3D show. You needed silly glasses to fully enjoy it.

The 3D effect was really cool. Kraftwerk performed many of their classic hits, such as Autobahn, Die Roboter, Das Modell, Computerliebe or Die Mensch-Maschine

They had well designed 3D visuals for every track. So although the old gentlemen hardly moved behind their terminals, every song sounded and looked fresh and interesting.

Here is a short video I shot while they were playing Autobahn, featuring a salesman who offered bottled water to a sweating, dancing crowd.

Kraftwerk seems to be really popular in Argentina. The big venue was packed and the audience obviously enjoyed their performance. They were especially happy when in the visuals for the song Spacelab, a spacecraft flew over the skyline of Buenos Aires and landed in front of the concert venue Luna Park.

I have always been a big fan of Kraftwerk. I even recorded an unplugged version of their hit Das Modell with my acoustic party band El Müggelsee Beach Terzett some time ago. I played bongos and sang the lead vocals:

Watching Kraftwerk in Buenos Aires was an awesome experience. Even better than their performance on my 17th birthday in Hamburg. Thanks, Flor, for the lovely company!


Sort:  

Wow.. Remember them from the seventies. Bet they were Brilliant. Upvoted

I love Kraftwerk :-) Thanks to the judge :-)

Oh man, this looks like it was awesome. I have never heard of them. Thanks so much for this.

These guys have invented electronic music and they have influenced so many musicians of all genres. They are legends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61195.23
ETH 2975.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47