30 Day Music Challenge: Day 11 - Cheshire Kitten - SJ Tucker

in #music-challenge6 years ago




Day 11. A song that I'm never get tired of


This artist is a witch, and is married to a wizard.
No wonder than that her songs are always pure magic. She simply weaves honey-traps for the listener, who has absolutely no choice but following her down to wonderland, and she does so with her angelic voice, enchanted guitar and lyrics that makes me believe on fairies (not that I have ever doubted their existence...).
This may be my favourite song by her, I can listen to it repeatedly and never have enough.




Lyrics






I grew up seeing things a little differently,
appearing, disappearing, hardly innocent,
nor tied down to the ground.
I learned to roll and tumble with the punches,
glory in my stripes and spots
walk by invisible and never make a sound

But heavy is the crown that's always hidden
tender is the heart you never see
hard and fast shines the grin that we flash,
but there's a vulnerable stripe or two on me.
Maybe any place outside of Wonderland
is not for me, my friend.

If I leave my grin behind, remind me
that we're all mad here
and it's okay.
Sun up, sun down the shadows hide me down in
Wonderland, Wonderland, nobody knows the way,
but if you find it in your dreams, you can
find it at your day job
somewhere south of Hell
Take the path to left or right
with just your gut to guide you
the story is not for anyone else to tell.
Go down the rabbit hole and out the other side
you can't go home in the middle of the magic carpet ride
you gotta greet the sun before his lovely daughter moon
you can't forsake the journey for the safety of your room
until you learn your lesson well.

I have learned to see and hear
everybody loud and clear
but the truth comes out in riddles that are safe enough to share
that's how it is in songs, you see,
and stripes always look good on me
whether or not I'm really there (smile hangs in the air)
But heavy is the burden of the wise ones
when no one understands a word they say
and the Jabberwock never bothered anyone,
but nobody believes him to this day
and why should they?

If I leave my grin behind, remind me
we're all mad here
and it's ok.
Sun up, sun down the shadows find me out in
Wonderland, Wonderland, nobody knows the way
but if you find it in your dreams,
you can find it at your day job
somewhere south of Hell
Take the path to left or right with
just your gut to guide you
the story's not for anyone else to tell.
You gotta go down the rabbit hole and out the other side
you can't go home in the middle of the magic carpet ride
you gotta greet the sun before his lovely daughter moon
you can't forsake the journey for the safety of your room
until you learn your lesson well.

Is it the stripes or the spots you see?
Was it hearts or diamonds, baby, led you here to me?
Darling, you know better than to trust a pack of cards!
What have we learned,
the world is never as mad as it could be.

If I leave my grin behind, remind me
we're all mad here
and it's ok!









To take part, each day post one music video with the above 30 day challenge graphic. Use the hashtags #music-challenge and #music. This isn't a contest, just a bit of fun. Maybe we can learn a little about each others musical tastes. 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82