OMG! What an awesome mushroom find! ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ„๐ŸsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mushrooms โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Last night my neighbor sent me this picture.

IMG_8466.JPG

She said that this massive mushroom was right up the road from my house. I was so excited because I was pretty sure I knew what it was. I posted a picture on my Mushroom Identification Facebook group page and soon got the reply. Positively maitake, also known as hen of the woods.

IMG_8468.JPG

The dogs and I headed up the road this morning with mushroom gathering basket in hand. I had to call her to come and meet me because I couldn't find it at first. When she pointed it out, I was amazed at the size of it. That little basket that I brought wouldn't even begin to hold that monster of a mushroom.

I lugged it the whole quarter of a mile back home. If I had known it was so big I would have driven up. I weighed it when I got home and it was 18 pounds!

IMG_8469.JPG

This wasn't the whole thing. I had a grocery bag full also. I had to clean and prepare it for storage so none would go to waste. In all of the little folds and crevices there can be beetles or spiders, ants or centipedes. I am dehydrating a large portion and freezing the rest.

IMG_8471.JPG

Of course I had to cook a few for lunch and try them out. I sautรฉed them in olive oil with onions and garlic and then added some butter, salt, pepper, and thyme. They were delicious!

Not only are they nutritious and delicious, they are medicinal also with lots of amazing benefits. Here is a great article.
https://wildfoodism.com/2014/09/29/5-unique-health-benefits-of-the-maitake-mushroom/

As always, I will warn you to never eat any mushroom that you are not 100% sure of what it is. Ask someone who is experienced in identifying mushrooms.

Thanks again for stopping by!

IMG_1838.JPG

Sort: ย 

What a giant! And looks so pretty with all the folds.
I wouldn't dare to pick it, since I don't know it and never had it (I don't even think I ever saw it...). But they way you cooked it looks so nice.. yumm

I may be a little too bold with the eating of them, but I only eat ones that are pretty much unmistakable. :-)

As long as you are sure of them :)
I was always told not to mess with mushrooms and I am super careful.

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

What a great find! Your picture of it cooked does look good. I made a small intro post about medicinal mushrooms you may want to check out. I'll have a podcast episode about them soon that will be more comprehensive. Medicinal mushrooms are truly one of the greatest things for the immune system. They're like diamonds that no one wants because they don't know about them...yet :)

I absolutely agree about the diamonds! I'll have to check out your podcast. ๐Ÿ˜Š

That thing certainly was massive! I've never seen a mushroom that big.

Same here. It's my first maitake.

That's an astounding find! I hope it keeps well in your freezer. I once froze a large batch of puffball and then everything else in my freezer ended up smelling like puffball. That was a problem. Maybe this type behaves better.

We'll see...it's the first time I've tried this. Usually i just dry mushrooms, but there was so much it would have filled my dryer about 4 or 5 times. :-0

True! Many dehydrators are pretty small. Not a chance that would have worked. Good luck with it! It's a worthy project!

Wow, what a find! The dish you cooked looks scrumptious too. Congrats! I don't trust my skills enough to identify maitake, but maybe someday...

It is a very unmistakable mushroom. I just followed you. Welcome to Steemit!

Amazing i love to cooked the fresh muchroom.
Their look like oyster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69