Mushrooms In The Winter ❄️🍄❄️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mushrooms6 years ago

My hubby and I were in the field by the forest splitting firewood and when was time to take a break I was ready to head into the forest to look for mushrooms. He calls after me, “Do you really think you can find mushrooms in the winter?” You bet you can!

DEB03CA1-A9CD-4D8B-99ED-6B47D709A0E5.jpeg

As I hiked to each fallen rotting log I spied a lovely group of tan colored mushrooms growing off of one of them. Bingo! They are oyster mushrooms, aka Pleurotus. I went and got my bag that I remembered to bring along and gathered my little treasures. I carried them back with a smug grin on my face to show them off. He is learning to not be surprised. I don’t find mushrooms...mushrooms find me.

3546B2F9-9B5D-4EFD-A3B3-D8EEC8336169.jpeg

I found some a few days ago also when were were cutting wood.

6D3637BC-BC35-4A17-89F4-853F44AF220A.jpeg

These were slightly different, perhaps because they were growing on a different kind of tree.

I sautéed them with onions and garlic and added them to some salmon chowder. Delicious!

Now for the obligatory warning:
THIS POST IS NOT INTENDED FOR FORAGING PURPOSES AND TO USE IT FOR THOSE PURPOSES WOULD BE DANGEROUS. DO NOT HUNT WILD MUSHROOMS WITHOUT RELYING ON A COMBINATION OF PROFESSIONAL FIELD GUIDES, IN PERSON PROFESSIONAL GUIDANCE, OR IN PERSON GUIDANCE BY SOMEONE TRUSTWORTHY WHO HAS COPIOUS LOCAL, SPECIALIZED MUSHROOM HUNTING EXPERIENCE. FAILURE TO DO SO CAN RESULT IN GRIEVOUS PERSONAL HARM OR DEATH.
Thank you to @dber for this thorough mushroom warning.

Thanks for stopping by Stillwaters Farm!

D229BC9F-94E8-44B0-AF61-BDEFF6794A29.jpeg

Sort:  

Very nice. Thanks for sharing. Sauteed with onion and garlic, yum indeed.

mushroom and salmon chowder!! that sounds DIVINE!

You are truly the mushroom whisperer @stillwatersart! Great find :)

The warning is a nice one , after all safety should be top priority ..
mushrooms well prepared do make lot of sense too.

lovely catch! its funny how much joy people get from finding mushrooms in particular!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99