A Plethora of Shrooms From the Forests of Galicia (Spain)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mushrooms7 years ago

I recently spent 16 months in the Galician forests where I found myself going through some changes emotionally, spiritually, and even physically. But that’s all for another post. Today I’d like to share some amazing pics of the various mushrooms I found during my many daily walks.

0_BAAA6_C2_5_D53_499_D_AFB1_6_AC725719_A54

I’m still just an amateur mycologists and so I will not even attempt to name these just yet. This is a post about the beauty of nature. True gifts which, unfortunately, a lot of us tend to overlook.

2522_A54_E_799_E_4837_8507_0_A998_B8_BAB58

We walk around with blinders on, rushing to or from one place to another. We ignore the beauty that surrounds us in favor of liquid crystal displays which enslave us. While not everyone has the option of strolling through the woods on a daily basis, there is also beauty to be found in Manhattan and Boston and San Francisco and...everywhere. You just have to take the blinders off and see the beauty in everything that nature offers us. Even if it is just a rat dragging a slice of pizza down a Brooklyn alley.

2_C4_D90_AE_2_ED5_40_B6_9300_F645_A3_F53_DB8

The picture above is one of my favorites. Mushrooms growing out of a fallen pinecone. Nature feeding nature. Death yielding new life. One specimen feeding another, oblivious to the cacophony of social media’s manufactured outrage of the day.

Take a minute to look around you and bear witness to what is truly important on this giant ball teeming with life as it seemingly floats in a sea of endless space and time...

BA097_D05_5_DD0_40_C2_86_F9_D4_D4_DD462_E27

The mycelium permeates the underground with its tendrils birthing new specimens of this amazing fungus which can feed your body, mind, and soul. They can end your hunger or start your journey beyond the self...depending on species and strain.
And, if you’re not careful or just reckless...they can end your life.

73297692_322_C_4628_BB33_A6_BBD8_E1_FD38

5463_C709_7_DBC_4543_BEAC_6_CBCD510_A27_B

The two pics above are examples of the Amanita Muscaria, long known to shamans and medicine men as well as psychonauts like Terence McKenna. Oddly enough, they are also the typical mushroom depicted in cartoons and other media. The international symbol for mushrooms...and also, supposedly, quite deadly.

I have eaten these with absolutely no good nor bad effects, much to my dismay. But that was me and I tend to be reckless at times. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES DO THE SAME. I will eventually post a Trip Report detailing my experiences with these beautiful specimens.

9412969_C_E7_C7_4_FA1_8149_AEFA955_C9_EFB

I call this one above the Pancake Mushroom for obvious reasons. Looks delicious, doesn’t it? But...who knows? Perhaps it holds the key to your demise or, on the other hand, the key that’ll open the locked doors of your mind.

94_B641_EB_182_F_4710_994_E_C99_BAC3226_E2

And so we end today’s walk through the forests of Galicia with these Blue Beauties. Such diversity of fungi that nature gives us...



I hope you enjoyed the tour. If you like what you’ve read be sure to follow me here and also check out the YouTube channel and subscribe. I will reply in kind.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzj2xeZLTgjHsyL9_3o54bA

Any questions? Ask away with a comment below.

🍄🍄🍄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54