You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So Many Mushrooms, So Little Knowledge...

in #mushrooms6 years ago

There are some great mushroom identification forums around. From your pictures though the white ones on the log look like Oyster mushrooms and the 'village' ones look like Painted or Bi-color boletes. Definitely do your diligent research though and if possible find someone locally that is familiar with the mushrooms and learn firsthand from them. There are so many look-alike mushrooms that it can be a bit daunting but you will learn. I started collecting mushrooms in the mountains here roughly fifteen years ago and learned firsthand from someone and never regretted it.

Sort:  

I would love to find someone who could show me the ropes. There is one person in my circle who could as a matter of fact, we've just not connected on the mushroom front, I keep forgetting! Thanks for the reminder...

I keep hearing about oysters. My wife wants to cultivate mushrooms, we'll be able to learn together.

Thank you @jacobpeacock

You are quite welcome! @senorcoconut Something else that I like to do is write down what time of year I find different mushrooms and where they are growing. Also when you do eventually start harvesting them use net (mesh) bags or woven baskets with lots of holes so that you are continually spreading spores everywhere that you walk. As a note of caution be careful about spreading spores of mushrooms that you are not going to be harvesting (for consumption or medicinal uses) because you might accidentally displace ones that you do want to harvest. I do what I call 'wild cultivation' with mushrooms and have learned that last bit the hard way. Good luck. :)

Oh wow, thank you for that important piece of information. I would have never thought of spreading spores as I'm harvesting! What a great concept.

spreading spores of mushrooms that you are not going to be harvesting

How do you do that? Just asking because If I'm not picking them up and putting them in a mesh basket, how would you srpread unwanted spore?

Thanks

You are welcome. If you touch the mushrooms or your clothing bumps up against them while walking near them or by carrying them that is all it really takes to spread the spores. Also if you have dogs that hike with you they can get the spores in their fur if they walk through patches of mushrooms or brush up against the mushrooms.

Ah yes, makes sense. Thanks for the heads up!

Once again.. You are quite welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56