How to Air Dry Amanita muscaria Without Dehydrator

in #mushrooms5 years ago

Welcome everyone!

It is harvest season so here is a quick and dirty guide to dry your Amanita muscaria, as best as possible, without a good dehydrator.

A good dehydrator is the best way to dry them, In a dehydrator you will convert the most Muscimol from Ibotenic Acid (stuff that makes you puke).

What You Need

  • Amanita muscaria (fly agaric), or any mushroom you want to dry.
  • Window Screen
  • Fan (Box Fan is okay)
  • Dehumidifier (optional)
  • Fireplace (optional)

5F772548-8C8B-4934-8687-56669AE20EB8.jpeg

Step 1, Preparation

ECD1EE79-E5EE-4E2B-8615-1D503AFB006A.jpeg

Clean your mushrooms with a damp rag and a dry paintbrush, you want to remove all the dirt and debris so they dry without any contamination. Dab dry your mushrooms with a dry towel. Cut them in at least halves so they dry faster, you may leave the stems attached to the caps.

Step 2, Air Dry

A9C8147D-FD1C-4AA8-9249-C97903DEACB1.jpeg

Place your prepared mushrooms on a window screen, preferably in a place where they will receive lots of sunlight. Aim your fan directly at the mushrooms and turn it on full power. You want to remove as much moisture as quickly as possible. Try and make sure the room is nice and warm to keep as much moisture out as well. If you have a dehumidifier, set it up directly next to the mushrooms an turn it on high.

If you don’t have a fireplace, this will be your last step, in 3-5 days your mushrooms should be cracker dry. They are not ready until they are completely cracker dry, that means that you can easily snap them in half.

Note: There are conflicting reports that air drying will not convert Ibotenic Acid into Muscimol, that you need heat. I have never gotten sick from air drying them.

Step 3, Fire Dry

A5979D57-A15C-4A87-A152-E8D6903031FE.jpeg

Once your mushrooms are dry to the touch, move them to your fireplace. You can either set them on it like I have or place them in a mesh vegetable bag and hang them in front of the fireplace. Keep an eye on them to make sure you don’t burn them. Flip them as needed and if the mushrooms lose any liquid it is too hot. You do not want them to lose any physical liquid during the drying process. Again, do this step until they are cracker dry.

Step 4, Storage

D746F5FE-8E15-4E6C-82C5-8DBF01EB9E1E.jpeg

Once they are completely dry, either by air or fire, you want to store them as soon as possible in an air tight container. Once they are dried it is best to make a tea for consumption to convert as much Ibotenic Acid as possible. You can learn more about that here.

You can use these steps to dry any kind of mushroom!

I hope this helps and if you have any questions please ask. Additionally, if you have any tips or ways I can improve this process please let me know! Thanks!

-@balticbadger

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Cool, but not possible where I live in the jungle where the humidity is 70-100 % and the temps are always above 28c...

I just make tea and then freeze the brew...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that won’t work for you! How does it turn out? I did it like that and it always makes me feel a little sick the next day if I drink more than a micro dose. Do you take heroic doses with it?

When I use the fresh boiled ones for microdosing works pretty good!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely great for micro but I’ve never experienced any negative effects during or after drinking my thawed tea...

Been some time since I have gone heroic lol, I shoot for about a 2.5g dried weight of cubes and 1.5g of copelandia for a moderate session. That’s assuming a 10x weight loss from the fresh weight, so 25 g wet is approximately 2.5 if I dried them. I’d say 4-5g cubes is heroic and 3-4 of the copes or “blue meanies” I’ve got a batch ready to thaw and I’m half tempted now haha... You’re in Germany if I remember correctly right ? Have a hunting season that’s just ending perhaps. Here it’s year round just have to find the free range cows and a safe way to gain access... a bit shady but no risk no reward eh 👁

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s awesome! Thanks for the info. I have never taken very much just tiny doses. Last Thursday I was out and there were still a few left. Hopefully I can make one last forage trip this week we shall see! I am to nervous to do any fence jumping lol! Who knows maybe one day

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wryly that took me on a curiosity reading trip. I was always told they were poisonous. Thanks for teaching me something new.

Posted using Partiko Android

I never knew about them until I did some research for a steemit post a while back! Such amazing things! My new obsession!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We will have to keep a look out for these when we're up in the forest again. Great info on drying them for tea 👍

Heck yeah, They are everywhere! Thanks man!

Posted using Partiko iOS

As many times as I've eaten mushroom I've yet to try the tea.. I may need to give that a whirl

I have never taken much, not enough to “trip” tea wise that is. Eating them is another story. Tonight I am trying a recreational dose, wish me luck!

Posted using Partiko iOS

GL.. enjoy the ride

Good way to dry quickly, buddy. Just do not need sunlight. And do not drink carbonated drinks before and after eating fly agaric. Otherwise, ibotenic acid will reappear.

I always heard that but never knew why not to drink carbonated drinks! Thanks for that!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Do not mention. Take care of your health :-))

Any way to view that page in English?

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can use the Internet auto-translator

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50