Mushroom Monday: Lion's Mane

#mushroommonday @balticbadger

I went out a short hike in the woods late yesterday afternoon . I came across a Lion's Mane fungi growing on a fallen Beech tree. I was hoping to find Old man of the woods fungi growing but I didn't. I really like finding them because they seem so hard for me to find.
20191014_080947.jpg
Lion's Mane

Below photo I took last year of an Old Man in the woods fungi.
20191014_090643.jpg

I also spotted a couple of Indian Cucumber plants growing not to far from the Lion's Mane. Their leaves are very pretty in the late Summer and Fall.
20191014_074943.jpg

20191014_075200.jpg

Photos taken by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

Sort:  

Wow, really nice specimens and great photography! Glad to see you take part in #mushroommonday!

Posted using Partiko iOS

🤗
Thank You...!!!
@balticbadger
I just discovered #mushroommonday
last week I believe it was a post from @sketch.and.jam
:)

Wow that is a nice old man of the woods. So far i haven't found one here yet. They are edible, did you cook it?

Posted using Partiko Android

😊
Hello @sketch.and.jam
I didn't harvest it. I thought about it 🙂. It looks far bigger in the photo. If was bigger I most definitely would have taken it back to make cabin..!
It's been a couple of years since I've seen one. I was most pleased to find.
:-)

I just reread your reply @sketch.and.jam. I found the Old Man of the woods last year. I didn't eat that either. There was just the one and I was hoping to see more this year where I saw that one.
Nothing yet..🤷‍♀️ but I hope to find.

I might have to go up to wisconsin to find any. They have way more mushrooms than here.

Posted using Partiko Android

splendid!!!!!

I also like the photo of 'Indian Cucumber', i didnt know the english title for this (cucumber? indian? strange...). in Russian, this toxic plant is named 'the raven's eye'.

🤗
Thank You!!!
@qwerrie
Indian Cucumber (Medeola virginian)
Lily family (Liliaceae)
The rhizomes are supposed to be edible... ???
I don't know if the berries are. I've seen no reference indicating they are.
I shall look up 'the raven's eye'.
I wonder if it's the same as what I have or have I misidentified??

ooo, pardon me, I misinformed you.
this is 'a ravens eye'. looks similar :)
but it is a different species!

😊
That's a very interesting wild plant. I don't know if I have them in my area.. I tried looking up raven eye. I'd like to learn about it.
:-)

very common in europe where I live.
but better not to get acquainted with it too close, berries are poisonous.

and we dont have Lion Mane where I live, at all... would love to find it one day on a tree trunk, but...

Thank You...!
Good to know if I see a plant with a single berry to be cautious and and avoid.
I'd much rather get acquainted with friendly wild plants.
I dont see Lion's mane often.
😊

What an unusual mushroom is lions mane edible? Does the Indian cucumber taste like cucumber or is it even edible?

😊
@myjob
Lion's mane is edible and the Indian Cucumbers root/ rhizomes. The root is suppose to have a mild cucumber flavor.

@annephilbrick I do not think we have either but if I find myself lost in the woods of the north I will know I can eat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53