Mushroom Hunting: Another Valuable Skill Set

in #mushroom6 years ago

Dangerous mushrooms are everywhere... I want to know which ones we can eat because some look so delicious while others look like the could kill you the minute you even think about trying a piece.

But how can we tell?

I will not tech you how to tell the difference in this post, I don't know it!

All I know is that if you're not 100% sure what it is, don't eat it.


Today I learned a little something about an edible mushroom...

This one goes by the names of Pheasant's Back or Cerioporus squamosus aka Dryad's Saddle.

20180530_104927.jpgThis cap is roughly 12 inches wide. Apparently a very old mushroom

Here's a view of the underbelly:

20180530_104940.jpg

And a wider shot:

20180530_104958.jpg

On the Edible side of things, from our trusty Wiki:

Young specimens are preferred, as they can become infested with maggots and become firm, rubbery and inedible as they mature. Cookbooks dealing with preparation generally recommend gathering these while young, slicing them into small pieces and cooking them over a low heat. Some people value the thick, stiff paper that can be made from this and many other mushrooms of the genus Cerioporus. The mushroom's smell resembles watermelon rind. Polyporus squamosus has a mild nutty flavour.

More than a few people, on my various identification platforms, have identified this mushroom as Pheasant's Back and eating it while young, before it becomes too much like rubber. However, some say that small ones sometimes are also tough while bigger one may be just right.

Steem line 2.png

Here's a trick for finding out which ones are tender, from Forager Chef:

Take a look at the underside of the mushroom, if the pores look open it's probably gone through maturity amd will be tough to eat. On the iyher hand if the pores look more smooth, like they're still closed, these mushrooms should be young and tender.

Dryad-saddle-or-pheasant-back-mushroom-pores-2-1-768x641.jpg

You see how the pores are pretty much closed and somrwhat smooth? Image source


20180530_134054.jpg

And here the pores have opened up to drop the spores. They kind a honey comb pattern.


On dangerous look alikes... Well, I couldn't find anything on the subject, so I won't be eating it today! They were all too tough anyway.

I try to give you guys that proof of me when I remember to... so here it is!

20180530_131718.jpg

Happy Steeming and until next time...

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @senorcoconut
In the End, it Always works out
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please tell me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Pheasant Backs or Dryad Sattles have no dangerous look a likes, so you are good, my friend.

Thanks @notconvinced, I took a good look online to find out and I couldn't find anything that said there weren't or that there were look alikes.

Owwwww dude. I would stay out of this randomly plucking hahaha

Always a bit envyous on people who can really tell the difference between all of these mushroom, I didnt get a mushroom 101 back in the days haha

Yeah... no worries, I will not eat anything I don't know! But I am slowly getting into it. Learno g as I can while I'm without a mentor!

and otherwise the good old: rub it on the skin first (to see if there is any reaction), then a tiny piece on the tongue...and only then eat

discoveries 'the ultimate survival ' :D

Oooh on the tong and than eat it.. don't know, I'll just get a mushroom friend to walk along with!

I can tell a morel from it's lookalike, but that's it. My brother learned a few from a source he won't reveal. 😏 I'd love to learn about them, but it's hard to find someone who knows much.

Yeah morels have one look aloke and it's pretty easy to tell the difference... I'm pissed, I think I missed the season in my neck of the woods. But this weekend will mark our Full Time living on the property we got last year to build a homestead and I won't miss morel season next year!

Congratulations! That's so excellent!

Motel season was so short here this year. It went from to cold to hot and dry so fast. I only know one guy who took a good haul. We didn't find any. 👎

I think the secret is learn a few and only pick those. Then learn a few more. Trying to learn to identify random ones you discover is much too hard.

You can't be too careful!! That's the right idea - if in doubt, forget about it. x

Yea right? Plus I am learning so many things right now... trees, edibles, solar energy, batteries! I'll keep the mushrooms at bay for now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55275.78
ETH 2457.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18