Lost Luggage for Sale

in #museums7 years ago

I am a European woman that love to travel in USA.

So far I have visited 15-16 states. As any other tourist I visit and take selfies in front of the most famous landmarks, but what I really love is to visit places that is not necessarily on top 10 on Tripadvisor.

So I will be posting about some of these places. Some of them are places I have already been to, and some are places that I have on my wish list.

The first place I will post about, is a very special shop in Scottsboro, Alabama. This is a place I would really like to go to, but haven't had the chance yet. (Also I have to convince my husband that it is worth a trip.) The shop is one of Alabamas top attractions and has more than a million visitors a year!!
The shop I want to visit is called Unclaimed Baggage, (https://www.unclaimedbaggage.com/) and is the only lost luggage shop in USA (and the world??). Thats right! The shop is 40,000 sq ft (!!) and sells, - well... - unclaimed baggage. 7000 new items arrive in the shop every day.
Some examples of the items that have been found in the unclaimed luggage and sold in the shop are:

  • a Las Vegas showgirl costume
  • a bear skin packed in salt
  • a 5.8 carat diamond packed in a sock
  • a coffin

The shop even has a small museum, with some of the most unique items that has been found, on display (-not for sale.)

So why do I want to go?! Maybe it is the opportunity to snoop around other people's things, or maybe it is the chance to walk around all these items, where you can only imagine where there have been, where they were on it's way to, and who the items have belonged too. And of course the opportunity to make a good deal on some special item!

Every Monday-Saturday at 2.30 pm visitors can watch while the store opens a new piece of unclaimed luggage.

You can vist the shop Monday-Thursday 9.00am-6.00pm, Friday 9.00am-7pm and Saturday 8.00am-7pm. Sundays are closed.
Unclaimed Baggage, 509 W Willow St, Scottsboro, AL 35768

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30