You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The history and story of rice

in #museum6 years ago

This is a very interesting place that I'd like to visit too as rice is the main staple at my home as well :) My husband is originally from Indonesia even though he was born in the Netherlands but his parents cook only Asian meals.

So funny to learn about the rice flag :) and that room with all those symbols is amazing! Do you understand all of them?

And I guess that Taiwan is not the biggest producer of rice because of its size, isn't it?

Thank you for sharing Pauline! I like your story and your photos are very nice too!

Sort:  

Thanks as always Martina. I think Taiwan isn't a major rice producer as it isn't as big as other countries such as India or Thailand, and labour is a bit more expensive. Also the east side where most of the agriculture is often have typhoons and that sometimes can wipe out the whole crop. I believe we are quite self suffucient though, which is great.

I imagine there must be quite a large Indonesian community in Netherlands due to its colonial days?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72