Murals Under Periferico

in #murals6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Murals Under Periferico


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Mexican seems be particularly well endowed with murals.

Is it particularly part of Mexican culture?

Throughout the 1920s, 30s, and up to the middle of the century, muralism was an important art-form. The state supported famous muralists, such as Rivera and Orozco, resulting in gargantuan wall paintings, telling many stories simultaneously. Although by today the state support has dwindled into mere non-interference, the tradition is alive and well.

I really love these mural posts of yours. They are not just like random street art at all because they have such a rich history to them. Great pictures & narrative!

Oh, I remeber similar murals from the 3 week trip that I did to Venezuela in 2006. Man that trip felt like year, so intense it was! But well worth doing. Man I was so unprepared... Hope to hear from you soon again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06