THE MUSINGS OF A NOT-SO-SMART MOTHER

in #mummy7 years ago (edited)
Most of my blogs have been vents for I cannot imagine a better listening board than my own laptop. So for once I thought why not get into a lighter mood? And the most precious thing which lifts my mood, however foul it might be, is my daughter and even as I think about her, I can feel my facial muscles on an auto mode to smile :) My girl is 5 years old and there are a thousand and one things which comes to my mind about my little darling. Her standard "frozen" pose( I'm desperately waiting for Disney to release another film on the lines of FROZEN!) with the chin down, her exasperated look when she tries to teach us something(like who is a Pegasus in 'my little pony,' what happens with one of Disney's princesses..I know you hardly understand a word of this. But trust me, you learn) and the innocent stare when something is wrong and Mommy is certain to get furious...A thousand and one things.......but let me recount a few..

DIPLOMACY

Oh yes. It has taken me thirty years to understand D-I-P-I-L-O-M-E-S-S-Y.. and even now, this is what I can manage. Completely wrong with multitude of mistakes. But I have been amazed at my sweetheart's efforts to not hurt people. I remember, one evening, my husband, had planned to take us both shopping and believe it or not(better believe it), I didn't want to go since I was already exhausted. Me: aaaggghhhhhh!(you can imagine fatigue, a li'l irritation) Hub : So shall we start? Me : aaaagggghhhhhh(now you can imagine despair, fatigue, irritation, in that order) Hub : C'mon. It is going to be okay. It is after all by car. Me : Rolling my eyes (fine then!) My daughter, in a soothing tone, looking at all this : Pa(dad), it is okay if amma(mom) isn't coming. With all the work, she might not feel like going. So....Let us go.....? End of conversation. Me: Yyyyiiippppeeeeee!!

THE 360' ANTENNA

I think this is not only with my daughter but all the kids from her generation. Whatever you do, be careful about what you speak in front of them. Many a time, assuming that our sweet little kid was busy playing, my hub and I engage in some conversation.
Hushed tones - ppssssstttttt
and then out of the blue,"Ma..are you referring to that incident where that uncle in the blue shirt wished me and I didn't?" and me ...... :o :o :o "err..no...not really!!??"
So my hub always says,"Be very careful. She has an Antenna on her head rotating 360'"

QUESTIONS

When I was in school and the teacher asked "Do any of you have any questions?" I used to wrack my head to think of one question to prove that I had indeed been listening. But always ended up consoling myself that I listened so well that I didn't have one question to ask. But my daughter has, at the least, one hundred questions to ask me in a day. I don't know about her teacher(I rather don't want to ask her!) But I've always loved that about her.
Conversation
Kiddo : Why is the plant green?
Me: Coz it has a green pigment called chlorophyll
Kiddo: okay!! so why does it make it green then?
Me : Eh...will tell you once we get home........ phew...

Kid: Why am I short?
Me: Coz you are a kid and I'm a grown up. As you eat and when you reach my age, you would be tall and a grown-up.
Kid: Then why is that you are still short?
Me: : :o :O :O

The latest question from my daughter was "Why does this world have vegetarians and non-vegetarians." I felt so proud of this question that I started explaining about eco-balance, food chain and all the stuff I had learnt and taught myself all these years.
Me : so...there needs to be a balance.....blah blah blah
My daughter (after a hundred more questions about eco-balance, system, tigers, herbivores and what not) : So why is that I'm the only vegetarian in my class?
Me : ......tomorrow darling.....tomorrow.........

CHERISHING MOTHERHOOD

Though all this has been in a lighter vein, coming to think of it, my life is absolutely meaningless without my Sweet Little Princess. Motherhood is a wonderful journey. To actually hold your kid in your bosom and cuddle him/her....nothing equals that happiness...To actually see them grow right in front of your eyes; that is divine. There could be thousand and one problems invading your mind, but one look from your little one is enough to bring you back to the world of serenity. Enjoy it. Cherish it. Cheers!

Sort:  

Awesome first post Archana👍 Could relate it very well to my journey as a mom too, especially the 'thousand and one' questions! Welcome to steemit, I take the honors of being your first upvoter in steem it 😀

Pavi....Thank you soo soo much... I'm slowly trying to get into this world..Thanks for your guidance. 😀

Good luck on steemit. Do post an introduceyourself post soon as this seems to be the norm in steemit; it is not an obligation, of course.

Hope to see more of your posts in here.

Thank you so much. Yes will post an intro soon ☺️

Lovely to see another cool write up! I know you are best in it. Life is about enjoying your moment and wish you to enjoy a lot with Arshiya and me (Ofcourse)

Congratulations @archusowmy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26