You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why You Don’t Need a Life Calling to be Successful (Or: The Frustrations of a Multipotentialite)

You studied Sumerian? 😭 💓 That's the most beautiful study I never knew existed. Your reasoning, " sat in a beautiful library for a couple of years surrounded by 150 year old tomes, deciphering the innermost thoughts of humans that existed millennia ago and have not been read since they were first inscribed in clay, untangling historical problems through minute clues hiding between the lines."

That's what life is about. And Yale? You are living the dream, girl. I'm so proud of you.

Sort:  

Yeah! And people act like I should be ashamed of it all the time, especially when I'm job hunting. Like some of my coworkers genuinely make fun of me for it. "Oh yeah, we'll come to you next time we need to read Sumerian for a client (judgmental smirk)." It's really frustrating because I kind of get my feelings hurt easily. It's really resulted in me feeling like, societal pressure to be ashamed of my past, so I just don't tell people. I need to give myself these pep talks sometimes. Really, thank you!

Anytime someone cuts you down is a veiled compliment that they see you as greater than themselves. Kind hearts give compliments, hurting hearts give cuts. Same thing, though. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56