Attention: MTG - Magic The Gathering Card Collectors!

in #mtg6 years ago

yiove7vnq2.jpg

Wanted to know if there are people here on steemit that would be interested in buying old MTG cards. Have thousands of dollars worth that I will be selling and they can either just go straight on eBay or I can offer them here first.

My attempt to sell some Pokemon cards here was met with very little interest and some push back on price which was crazy as I've since sold all the unopened packs on ebay for the price I wanted here or higher. The logic given to me was that "steem will be worth at least $XX later" so my price was crazy based on some hypothetical future price of steem. Sorry but the future increases (or decreases) in value have nothing to do with the value today. The idea of selling items for SBD or Steem is to allow you to buy something you might want without having to deal with exchanges, fees, and delays to turn your crypto back into fiat while at the same time save me the time and effort to turn my fiat into crypto. Win-Win.

Anyways before taking the time to list cards and all the work involved in doing so I wanted to see if there is an interest. People seem to be investing in @steemmonsters so I would think there are #magicthegathering fans here on steemit. Let me know if you to see some older (mainly 1994-1999) cards listed here for sale.

Sort:  

Heya!

I'm glad to see other Magic: the Gathering collectors on here. I confess I also would rather sell some of my old cards for Steem than buy new ones. I recently took a loss selling bulk old commons because it was just time to clear out the shelves. But I sold them to a fellow who knew plenty of new players that he promised he'd give any to after he'd picked them clean for what he needed. So it still felt like a win for the Magic community. Cards are meant to be played with!
I'm in Los Angeles, and would love to start building a Steemit magic community that buys and sells cards on steemit. Seems like I should put you in my pocket. And if you know anyone in L.A. on steemit that plays magic, let me know. I'll do the same with IL, if I come across folks. My parents live in Wisconsin and we'll be there in September. If you wanted to come up to their farm for a day, I think we'd love to meet you and play a game of Magic! (@stinawog is the other part of that "we")

There needs to be some easy marketplace kind of app for stuff on Steemit. An ebay of sorts. Because searching and posting for items for sale is not yet easy to do.

But yay magic players on Steemit!

Also, I'll be flying to Europe in 2020 sometime, so if @slobberchops is still interested in your cards (And mine) perhaps transporting a few in a suitcase would be a cheaper method of transit. But that's a few years from now. We'll see how the world has changed by then.

A few things, if you are looking to sell at a number that allows someone to resell I'm always in the market and happy to buy in Steem, BTC, LTC, or anyo other currency you prefer. So based on where in WI you will be going that suitcase of cards might be a good option.

Commons I sell cheap to local kids at shows. I do them as blind packs and make sure to include some uncommons and rares to keep it interesting. I even added a few dual lands at the last show to make sure to keep things interesting for them. When the kid pulled an $500 card he almost shit himself, not bad for a $5 blind pack.

I kind of take the same mindset that the cards should get into the hands of someone that will appreciate them. The blind packs are a great way for me to do that and when I get collections cheap the good cards stay in the packs just because I can afford to do it and it helps keep the interest in the game alive when people can find quality old cards without spending a fortune.

Right now @steemfleamarket is something that @kaliju has tried to get started, but it hasn't really taken off. It's the whole you can't get buyers without sellers and sellers don't want to take the time to list without buyers.

I'd love to see a true ebay style system built using Steem for payment, but off of steemit. Think that you need to build something from the ground up and not be restricted by things like posts and 7 day windows for editing. Plus there needs to be a good way to organize everything and tags only go so far.

It's on my list to talk to someone about and see if we can create a proper system and what the costs would be.

Heya! Thanks for the response! I've actually been thinking about buying and selling using @steembasicincome shares as currency. Does that sound like something you'd be interested in? The buyer would pay "full price" for the cards, but because steem basic income gives them something, too, it's also like getting them for free (assuming the whole ecosystem doesn't collapse).

Do you think you'd like to come up to Wisconsin for a visit? I don't know that my suitcase would be worth your travel costs, but if the travel is just a funsie, I'd be happy to sell you as many cards as I can bring (we're also traveling with a baby, and airlines charge so much for baggage!)! Regardless, it's always nice to meet both Steemians and Magic players, so that's a two-fer!

Interesting idea...I hadn't thought of that. I'd gladly pay for cards in SBI shares. It's more like getting half off, but still really a fun idea. Over time they would earn back their investment in the cards that way and you can earn more then what you sold them for over time. Win-Win

don't think SBI is going anywhere anytime soon. They are making some positive changes to the system and looking forward to where things are going.

If you are on discord message me there. thedarkhorse #6765

Added!

I don't spend much time on discord, but I'm on it occasionally!

And exactly, win-win. I want to pay for everything in SBI, and get paid in SBI. Just gotta figure out what I can sell, and what's available to buy that I actually want!

I deal in MtG cards on a small scale, I would be interested in what you have for sale. Are the 2 cards in your picture a sample of what you have?

They happen to be 2 cards that were sitting next to my computer. But these are both Italian versions. Have a few Italian ones, but just haven't dealt with them yet as their value isn't nearly the English version. Was thinking of creating a lot for them to get the price point to where I like to be.

Could have just as easily used factory sealed boxes of Prophecy and Invasion as they are both here too, but mainly looking to sell the individual cards right now.

Would be more targeting people that want the cards for their collections (or speculation) as I deal in cards, toys, and other things you would expect at different cons and shows for my business. Just figured instead of selling on ebay or in person to then turn around and convert the fiat to crypto and deal with all that bs it would be nice to sell direct for the currency I want right now.

20180806_171109.jpg

Would be more targeting people that want the cards for their collections

OK, no worries, still interested in what you have, Ill keep an eye on your posts as always. The fact that you are over the pond would not really help our transaction if one did manifest.

The shipping sucks overseas. But if there are things that you are looking for that are easier to come by here and have a premium value there let me know. I have many overseas buyers that come to the Chicago Toy Show and they feel it's worth flying here to buy for their inventory. It's amazing to me, but guess we have more vintage toys then most other countries. Sure that boils down to we spoil kids and more important have much bigger homes then in most countries as land is cheaper.

I'd say 15% of my eBay sales go overseas too. It always amazes me.

You got a 37.33% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thedarkhorse!

The biggest Magic The Gathering fan I've come across on steemit would have to be @stefanonsense. I know he likes to go down to the local shop during events and get new cards and enjoy tournaments. No clue what he is in the market for if anything these days.

I’ve come across a couple of people in the gaming community I just don’t quit recall any other names off top of my head regarding this. Most just talk about it from a nostalgia stand point these days.

It's a niche market and even more so once you start talking about old cards. From the looks of it I probably won't take the time to list them until there is a better way to do so. Need to start looking into a way to make my own platform for selling goods for steem. Think there are plenty of people that would benefit from it and it would legitimize steem as a currency vs a store of value.

Need to start looking into a way to make my own platform for selling goods for steem.

I’ve seen people use #steembay I’m not quite sure what else is out there if anything.

Just in the gaming genre alone here once people have a following that big enough and worth there time in creating and selling t-shirts or other things. They are going need an actual store front. I’m sure some of the really big communities as well would love to have an easy way of selling stuff like that as well. I’ve some have t-shirts no idea how they sell them or if they just give them out.

I doubt more traditional routes for something like are into cryptocurrency.

With so many creative people on that platform I would hope the handcrafted section would be rather big.

You have hit on so many of the things I think would sell well here. The key is the platform just makes it complicated for creating a good selling method. Need a ebay or etsy like storefront for each seller with the ability to add/remove/edit listings ongoing without needing to create new posts to get the content in front of people.

Have some thoughts on this and will be playing around with it over the winter to see what I can design.

Hey @enjar, thanks for tagging me in this. @thedarkhorse While I do love playing MtG and consider myself a collector I'm not in the financial position to collect the very expensive cards. I'm interested in collecting entire old sets because I like the art, a lot, but I'm not purchasing cards as investments.

Don't have any complete sets currently, but will keep this in mind for sure.

this cards and gaming things always confusing. Not for me type of stuffs.

This cards and gaming
Things always confusing. Not
For me type of stuffs.

                 - sherbanu


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

SO? What is this haiku now?

Oh enjoy my flags

Hey good spam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91