MTG Foil of the Day - Elves only like Elves

in #mtg6 years ago

Check out this Black Elf, the Thornbow Archer!! He only likes people who are Elves!!

IMG_20180117_102510.jpg

I have run this guy in my Modern Sultai Elves lists for years with Shaman of the Pack.

shaman.jpg

However, I have recently had to drop this little guy out in favor of more Ramp, but I love this little guys pressure

sultai-pack-elves.png

Do you have a Thornbow Archer in any decks!?!?! Where would you play this nasty Elf? Let me know in the comments below!

Sort:  

Hey kwjeagle
A few weeks ago i found the Hunting Pack Origins Intro Pack in a comic store and I bought it, because I wanted to start playing an elves deck. The thornbow archer was part of that deck. I think that a green/black elves deck is more powerful by plaing passively like putting a lot of elves on the battlefield and drawing cards like crazy and then cast shaman of the pack to deal something like 10 damage or more.
The thornbow archer is quite a nice guy... I mean 1/2 for 1cmc is not bad, but you need to attack with him to use his ability and then you risk losing him. And typical elf creatures are synergising very well with other elves in play not in the graveyard (okay there are some but I don't like them neither).
As you mentioned an elves deck works better if you ramp with llanowar elves or arbor elf or something like that: 1 cmc producing mana creatures. And maybe you can literally overun the enemy.

Have a nice day!

PS: Do you play MtG on platforms like xmage?

Completely agree with your analysis here. Elves are a lot of fun to play. Mana ramp has been a lot of fun, getting to drop Nissa at ult feels good.

P.S. I do play MTG on xmage

would you like to play with me sometimes. for checking deck ideas. if they work and how strong they are. are they viable for fnm, or nice kichten-table decks?

Sure that sounds like fun! I like to brew decks a lot!

maybe we should find another place to "chat", but i dont like to write my clearname here (facebook, and skype also needs my clearname :-D ). do you have an idea?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68279.01
ETH 3694.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65