[TI] Why These Magic: The Gathering Cards Are Worth $27,000

in #mtg6 years ago
Business Insider spoke with Roy Raftery, card game expert and manager of Sneak Attack Games, about a set of cards called the Power Nine. The Power Nine is a set of extremely rare cards in the trading card game Magic: The Gathering. They have extremely powerful effects, giving any player who has them a huge advantage over their opponent. Roy's set of Power Nine cards is worth $27,000 (£20,000). 

Sort:  

Like an idiot I stopped playing this when I opened a booster pacl back in the day and got some kind of multi headed Hydra and another customer at that comic shop offered to trade his car for t.

Had I been paying attention I would have seen the value in just dealing in cards. But nope. I walked away like an idiot. Lol

I played during 4/5th edition and Ice Age era. When I stopped and sold all the cards, the only thing I kept was my deck, none of the valuable cards or anything lol. I still happily have my deck though somewhere, even though I'm sure half the cards in there aren't allowed in tournament play.

I was a day one player. It hit, me and some buddies went in together and got a box of boosters and split it according to how much we put in.

I wish I had at least kept up with it. Lol

I had two sets of these once upon a time. I sold my last Black Lotus for £140 in 1997. A guy came all the way from Stoke on the train to collect it. It was a long time ago, and I try not to think about it these days.

I have owned Deadpool's first appearance twice, the first time I remember I sold it for $40 to a family member. Lovely memories we all just try and forget lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62226.04
ETH 2440.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63