MTG Draft - Rivals of Ixalan

in #mtg6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday one of my favorite places in Zagreb - Crni Mačak organized casual MTG draft. We drafted three boosters, two were from the Rivals of Ixalan set, and one was from the Ixalan set. I picked Navigator's Ruin from the first booster I opened and passed on the rare. From the next two piles that were passed to me Luminous Bonds and Baffling End and decided to build U/W control.


navigatorsruin.jpg


Unfortunately for me almost all players were drafting white and not many white cards came my way. On the other hand, I was getting some great blue cards and a few pretty decent merfolk. Although I already passed a few good merfolk I decided to drop the white color and build G/U merfolk tribal deck midway through the draft. White cards simply didn't come my way and it was really hard to say no to Waker of the Wilds after all the blue merfolk I drafted.


wakerofthewilds.jpg


The final result was blue/green merfolk pirate raid deck which was pretty fun to play but got its ass whooped in most of the rounds. It was completely worth it as, for the first time, I managed to mill opponent's decks in a draft!

Here is the full decklist of what I drafted - for easy preview you can also check it on my tappedout profile:


Creature - 19



a03a8838175ec75077946e71da21c6966c1b842d_hq.jpg




Enchantment - 2



en_8FDymh2Heh.png




Instant - 8



spoiler-rix-release-wind.png




Sorcery - 2



Crashing-Tide-Rivals-of-Ixalan-Spoiler.png




Land - 17






Check out my previous MTG post here: MTG Combos #1 - Keiga + Following Footsteps


Note: All images portraying cards in this post are owned by Wizards of the Coast.

Sort:  

I love milling people out. It's almost as much fun as locking them down. I'll have to give this one a go.

Milling is wonderful :)

My mill EDH deck isn't very good beyond budget 1v1, but I have been tempted to try mill Merfolk in Standard now.

Who are you using as commander? I last played standard mill during Ravnica, it was mostly revolving around Circu, Dimir Lobotomist and Szadek, Lord of Secrets

Mirko Vosk is one of the best commander choices for a mill EDH deck :) You might also want to consider Oona, Queen of the Fae or Phenax, God of Deception.

P. S. Be careful with Mindcrank + Duskmantle Guildmage. They form an infinite loop of actions considered mandatory (you can't chose how many times effect will resolve once you use Guildmage's ability). When such a loop occurs, the rules state that game ends in a draw: 421.4. If the loop contains only mandatory actions, the game ends in a draw.

Phenax is in the deck now, and I have a foil Oona that I have been considering using.

And I don't think that's a draw result because the cycle ends when life or library = 0.

I checked it out and you are correct.

Thanks for the possible issue alert though. There's a high probability I will overlook a flaw like that.

Nice! it is interesting the history that the crypto community has with the magic community, especially with the first exchange being MTGOX

Haha, I just had to check out what MTGOX is, small part of me hoped that first exchange enabled you to trade the crypto only for MTG cards :D

hahah nah but it was created by some of the people behind magic the gathering

MTGOX literally stands for magic the gathering lol :-)

Back in a day my fav mill combo was always Traumatize + Haunting Echoes in UB Control :) .

That is just nasty man... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94