You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mountain biking Rancho San Vicente (Health Challenge)

in #mtb6 years ago (edited)

@glennolua, great post again! I agree, cycling is something you can do until you are very old... I just read this book: https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/book-review-fast-after-50-how-to-race-strong-for-the-rest-of-your-life - interesting learning point is that as long as you keep on doing high intensity interval training, you can keep your fitness levels up for a really long time. Don't only do long and slow rides when you get older.

@twowheeledmonkey Yes for sure! Only issue is I'm also travelling, in Singapore now, on my way to Papua New Guinea.... Just did a bit on a treadmill, but am sure that is not going to win me the challenge. Also brought a skipping rope in case no running is possible.

Sort:  

I've heard of that book on the mtb forums. I think Ned Overend shows that you can still be fast over 50, but he may be an anomaly.

I used to do HIIT with hill repeats on the bike and running, even bleachers but I start to get knee pain on my left side, so I limit the intervals just so I 'save' my knee for the years to come.

Looking forward to your entry into the Health Challenge. The channel appears to be a great asset for those 'healthy' steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69