A Trail a day keeps the Doctor away

in #mtb6 years ago

There is something truly special about the area I'm in now, the people I meet and relationships that are subsequently built from them.

7 months ago I decided to pack up all my things, quit my job as a Salesman in a large Cycling store in Johannesburg and move to a small plot of land where my parents currently reside.

A tiny town in the Midlands of KwaZulu-Natal. Black Wattle, Eucalyptus and Pine plantations scatter the horizon with large rolling mountains helping to break the constant green of the trees with the occasional rock form.

When I arrived at my new home, with nothing but my few saved Rands in my back pocket, deminishing as the Rand weakens against every currency around.

I had little faith in making a living down here, work is scarce in the area with machinery doing majority of the felling of trees these days.

So in my days of having little to do, I started listening to a famous man called Alan Watts. The one thing that stuck with me was,

"Its better to have a short life that is filled with what you love doing, than a long life spent in a miserable way. If you do really like what your doing, and it doesn't matter what it is, you can eventually become a master of it."

After hearing this, and a few more of his talks about life and the true meaning behind it, it hit me. Do what you want to do, do what you love, love unconditionally and great things will come. The power of Positive thinking.

Once I flipped my perception of everything, my life changed.

In the coming month I put the word out that I wanted somewhere to build Trails and in the future host an event or even open a permanent facility.

My first location was a beautiful valley with the massive Umkhomaas river flowing through.

I was broke, had minimal tools, (A Forestry Hoe, Machete and Spade). This would never work here, the mountain sides are often -45%. This would work great, however the hills are littered with dense natural bush that will require chainsaws and a Brush cutter to get through. No cash for that so it was time to move on!

So I set out to find my new location. Chatting to some of the local riders, who have to drive 35km to the closet bike park. Suggested that I speak to a local timber farmer about 6km from where I live.

I arranged a meeting with Lance for the following week. During our meeting he showed me some his previously cut sections that were overgrown.

He mentioned that a few people had been before to try and build a bike park here but never showed to start the job.

Well, I have nothing else to do? Why the hell not!

And so the build process has begun! I am a solid 3 week of work in and have around 5km of cut trail.

Once we have the initial 10km "Green" loop finished, its time to start designing the Enduro and Marathon Routes!

I have compiled a short clip of some of fresh cut trails, just need to figure out how to upload a video!

I will keep updating with the latest from the trail side!

Keep it Steezy

image
image
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49