New! MSP Waves Radio Schedule Google Calendar! Get alerts for shows IN YOUR TIMEZONE :)

in #mspwaves6 years ago (edited)

I just made a public Google Calendar for MSP Waves that will automatically adjust to your timezone and give you alerts! Never miss a show again!

If you haven't heard of MSP Waves yet, it is live radio that happens on the Minnow Support Project Discord Server. They have a schedule posted on their website in UTC+0 time. Until now, you had to do the math yourself if you wanted to figure out when the shows happen in your timezone, or use an online converter.

I am too lazy to keep going to the website to look up shows and figure out times, and I keep missing shows. So I started making myself a Google calendar to get reminders. That's when I realized I could make this calendar public, and share it with everyone in the world! :) I ran this idea past @kubbyelizabeth who is in charge of marketing for MSP Waves and she said they hadn't thought of this yet, so I am very excited to try this idea out.

*Please know its third party software so I don't have control over weird glitches. If you run into issues comment below and I will try to help you. Consider this calendar a beta effort! :)

Here is how to use it:

On your desktop computer


  1. Open your Google Calendar.
  2. Look on the left. Click the "+" icon. (It is hidden in my screenshot so I circled where it is.)


    Mspwaves gcal 1.jpg


    3)Select "From URL"



    mspwaves gcal 2.jpg

    4)Copy this address and paste in the field :
    https://calendar.google.com/calendar/ical/85525rt4qq65lbllklsgmkudg0%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics

    Worried about calendar clutter?? Don't panic!

    Here are some ideas for how to manage the calendar

    You can uncheck the calendar to hide it from view, and just check it again when you want to see whats coming up

    msp waves gcal 3.jpg

    You can go into settings, and globally change the notifications to a different amount of time, or turn them off. You can also hide the calendar, or unsubscribe from it in this settings area.

    mspwaves gcal 4.jpg

    If you just want a notification for one show, and not all of them, first turn off all notifications in the area I showed you above. Next, click on that event in your calendar, and it will open a little window. Copy it to a different calendar on the drop down list. Then you will have full control of the settings.

    mspwaves gcal 5.jpg

    Please tell me if you are giving it a try!

    If anything is glitchy, try googling for solutions, or comment below and I will try to help you!

    msp-waves2.gif

    Thanks for reading and please resteem to get the word out! :)

    xoxo,

    dflo pink.png







Sort:  

Very good post and i love it....

Cool, I got it to work. Thanks for making this.

Just found out about this amazing calendar ext. to keep track of @msp-waves broadcasts and times.
Im super stoked on the #msp-waves project & would like to thank @minnowsupport with #minnowsupportproject for all of their hard work.
My brother @viktorcapulet has been running is mouth the past two days about how badly he wants to start a radio show on @msp-waves platform. I think he's looking to work with others cause I left him out in the cold.
Please consider his proposal. Regards. #minnowtowhale #steem-promo @booster #booster @randowhale #minnowgroups #steemthat #steemthatshare

The best thing he can do is start listening to the shows, meet people, and fill out the application for a show Commenting on this page probably won't get seen by a lot of people especially since this is a really old post. Head on over to the website to look at the FAQ for the rules for applying for a spot. There is an application that you fill out as well, I think. http://mspwaves.com/faq/. Best of luck!

Thank you for the feed back. I found out about @msp-waves through their website. I spoke to the dev briefly as I listened to the different shows coming on the air as well as looking in to the other broadcast scheduled for later days and I’ve begun to formulate a plan.
I’m hoping to have something solid to submit on the next day or so.

Thanks and praise 🙏 for your feed back once again. V

Thanks for showing me some love J. The wheels have been turnin and I’m coming up with some pretty good ideas. I just need to organize a broadcast for @MSP-waves #minnowsupportproject #minnowtowhale

I am female, but thanks.

Great job @dflo! This is so helpful, thank you so much.

I am glad you like it! :)

I LOVE THIS SOOO MUCH!

I AM SO HAPPY THAT YOU DO!!!!!!

Great tutorial, thank you, I was looking for reminder to the shows and here you save me a headache, I really appreciate how you made it simple ;)

I am glad its helping you not have a headache :)

Super stuff. Need to incorporate into website. Will feature post on the CHAOS Show tonight.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dflo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is wonderful! Thank you for making this post, as the calendar is SO MUCH EASIER than the schedule posted on the website!

yay! Yeah spread the word! And if you see anything missing please let me know and I will update. Kubby also has access. You can DM me in Discord . There is a lot of new stuff happening lately so its been hard for me to track so just let me know if you notice anything and that would be an awesome help! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51