I just turned all my Bitcoin and Litecoin into Steem

in #mspwaves6 years ago

discord top.jpg

I am one of those December crypto late bloomers. When I heard about bitcoin I freaked out, read all I could, and spent $100 on it, I think Bitcoin was at like $10,000. I don't actually have money to play with, so that was all I could do without blowing off an important bill! Then it kept climbing, and my tiny investment got.. well only slightly less tiny, haha.

So I got excited again and was reading everything I could get my hands on. After deciding it seemed pretty solid and feasible, I put around $100 into about 1/3 of a Litecoin. My Litecoin doubled the next day, so I was hooked. That is when I also coincidentally found Steemit, and have never turned back!

Fast forward to today. I had $64 in Litecoin this afternoon, and about $50 in Bitcoin. I was listening to MSP Waves like I do almost daily, and people were talking about trading vs holding. But they were talking about much higher numbers than my tiny fraction of evaporating coin. I wasn't panicked, because I had always been willing to lose it, but why let it turn to zero if I could move it to a more secure place? So, I decided to turn my Litecoin into Steem at around 2pm MST.

Ever since I landed here at Steemit I have been pretty confident in the long term viability of this platform. So even with my piddly little amounts of money, I would rather invest here than in most places.

I checked Coinbase again later , and my little bitcoin investment was going down by the second: $36, $35, $34...

I worked quickly getting the blocktrades addy and it was hard because the amount kept changing faster than I could type! I did it in 2 transactions because Coinbase kept telling me i didn't have enough to send when I tried to send it all at once! I think I managed to move around $33?

Then I mentioned it in chat, and @aggroed and @meno said I should post about it .... so...here I am telling you all about my tiny very first day of trading :)

The moral of the story is this: The Minnow Support Project, and its radio-chat extravaganza MSP Waves are awesome. Being there is fun, educational... and most of the time ridiculously irreverent... and you make REAL PALS and get REAL GOOD IDEAS. And there is a super unfair dice game that is very fun to play while you listen to Freebird. If you haven't checked them out yet I strongly suggest you do!

msp-waves2.gif

Thanks Steemians for being a positive influence on my life! (that seems like poor grammar but you get my meaning)

xo,

dflo

Sort:  

U r right, no gambling, just steem

From tiny acorns, great oak trees grow!! Keep investing small amounts and you won’t regret it in the future.

I certainly hope this happens!

Would do the same tho lol

Those transaction fees and times are why I’ve suggested against bitcoin in recent year or so. Ethereum, and steem is where it’s at.

Good job!

Wow! If I can get a Tesla like that.

This. Is. Amazing.

And totally not street legal. Still awesome, though!

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
BTCBitcoin9914.250$-10.79%-8.95%
LTCLitecoin160.198$-10.26%-9.82%
MSPMothership0.248$-18.94%-17.79%
STEEMSteem4.985$-10.13%15.98%
WAVESWaves7.380$-12.98%-9.9%

Good bot

We gonna get up there and say hi to BTC then say bye when move on...

Nice post

I'm not sure about Litecoin after Charlie Lee cashed out. Steem should be a good one!

Yeah that wasn't looking good. I wanted to just let it sit there anyway but it was tanking way too fast!

Looking at my crumbling empire... definitely food for thought. Thanks for sharing!

Wow good job. I believe in Steemit. I'm not stopping anytime soon and the design keeps people on here for the long run. I do daily freestyle raps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50