A Bromode (Bro + Ode) to @sircork and his time machine; mspwaves radio sponsored by @lovejuice.

in #mspwaves7 years ago

Imagine if you will the late 1990s and early 2000s. I've recently graduated from a world renowned high school. I was league MVP for wrestling. I was cut, handsome, arrogant, bright, had the world at my finger tips, and a future so bright I had to wear shades...

Upon entering college one of my best friends in the world suggested to me "Hey Dude, come be on my radio show with me. You'll have fun." Little did I know that for several years I would be hosting multiple radios shows. I had a heavy metal with my best friend show. I did an indy rock show with my buddies. We had 90s rock, which will forever be my favorite genre. The room was filled with compact discs and we had to literally pick out the music CD by CD and put it in the player. That's right millenials, take off your furry costumes long enough to hear this through your earholes- Back in my day we didn't have streaming music services. We had CDs, and they got scratched, and it was aggro-vating as hell as you jogged because the laser would skip and your song would eff up. ^%&%&^%&^&^%$^#%^$^$

There was a sign hanging in the studio. "Please don't have more than four guests in the studio at once," but some hillarious asshat changed the sign to read "Please don't shave more than four guests in the studio at once." Cute, but it's stuck with me.

Anyways, that was then. Since then I've been married 20 years (nearly divorced at least thrice), finished grad school, had several kids, had an industry career, a professing career, and had another industry career. I've been blown up, fired, in the hospital a few times, my mothe, many of my uncles and aunts, and all my grandparents have died, and honestly I've had a bit of a bizarre life. Much of it has been amazing, and much of it has been depressing and anxiety inducing. Somewhere in 2012 I realized the hard truth that Jet Fuel can't melt steel beams, and the resulting discoveries about how our world works and the pedophiles in charge has been agonizing. Turns out drinking isn't that great of a solution to any of this.

So, these days, I put my war paint on, try to get up, and go to work. I try to keep a positive attitude, but so much of it seems a strain. The world is changing agonizingly slowly and it isn't clear that it's all for the better. Work is getting better, but it's a challenge to stay connected to the fiat world when all I want to do is leave it. I know that every single time I use a dollar it empowers people that cause harm. Like all marriages we have our ups and downs, but I have a way of making the downs downer. My body which used to be ripped is now overweight and my physical ass kicking days are over. My kids are amazing little people and I'm grateful, but sometimes their energy is overwhelming when other parts of life are blargh.

Such is life.


So, it's with that open discussion that I can deliver the actual point of this. Last night for just a few hours I was transformed back to that 18 year old kid. I was playing 90s rock from the convenience of my office. I was wracking my brain trying to remember all the songs I love. I was there like John Cusack in High Fidelity poking away at Spotify and Twitch trying to make the music play that brings a special love and joy. At various points all members of my family were caught live on air. Baby 2 was perhaps the cutest when she stole my headphones listened to the music and squeeeeelllleeed in delight, but she didn't know the mic was hot.

I played love songs, dance songs, rock songs, sexy songs, and personal favorites. I took requests, and I played what I wanted when I wanted it. I interjected smooth DJ lines like "You're on the air with MSP WAVES" I even brought back my old DJ name Skanky J. We discussed banksters, trolls, fiat, love, music, posting, and I thanked our supporters @lovejuice and @rhondak for her latest project Steemshelves.com, which I'll post about later tonight. I haven't brought back naked radio... but it's on the list.

Not only was it one of the best nights I've had on PALnet, the Discord home of the Minnow Support Project, not only was it one of the best nights I've had interacting with Steemians, it was honestly one of the best nights I've had in 20 years. I didn't know how much I missed muh music and muh show.

So, Cork, or @sircork, this whole thing is a bit of bromance letter. Thank you for the time machine, thank you for the media server to create MSP Waves, thank you for patiently helping me setup OBS to broadcast, thank you for setting up a website, thank you for onboarding and wrangling a dozen lowtech minnows to get this going, and thanks for being awesome. You're a wonderful person, extremely generous, and I'm blessed to count you as a friend.

Sort:  

I awoke to the chat still reeling from Skanky J's first night back in the DJ booth. I can't believe I missed it, but from what I hear it was a blast. I'll definitely try to catch it next time.

Im sorry to hear you havent had the smoothest life, but such is life as you said, unfortunately. Glad you had a great time last night, music can do amazing things <3

I'm very happy and excited to be working with you guys on the msp waves project! It's going to be a lot of fun to be doing radio shows again!

You the man! Thanks for adding some much needed relief to my life! Well... assistant the man, anyway!

It's my pleasure! Really happy to help, and see where this all goes!

Me too, lil brotha, me too

Amazing work - and most people only see the front-end of what's happening.
Behind the scene - there is tons of work! Awesome, SC!

music from 90s is my favourite :) by the way did you record that night music that was best in last 20 years? i want to listen, hope you upload it somewhere

Super sad that I missed it! I was busy researching and catching up on everything crypto and steem that I am behind on. I, like you, need a guiding hand through some of this stuff! It is great knowing people that are happy to do it!
I hear you man on the volatility and roller coaster of life. And yes, kids are the greatest...but when I'm not at full energy, or just stressed, it can be draining!
😯
😎
I can't wait for the next one!!
Peace brother!!

Here is to Skanky J!

Man that sounds like an illustrious career with many a mishap along the way. It reminded me of mine slightly. Well substitute wrestling with Kung Fu and DJ'ing with being in a band and almost!

It was a truly stellar job last night. Great tunes, wonderful host and great company in chat. Bravo.

Well done @SirCork for all the hard work getting this set up.

Thanks my brother of the minnow motha!

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @aggroed from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @aggroed from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99