What does Liberty really mean?

in #mspsteem6 years ago

What does Liberty really mean?

Does it mean that I can go wherever I want to go, wear whatever I want to wear? Is freedom my right to take the bus and not a taxi? Is it the luxury of picking my career path, without pressure or undue influence from my family?

images(8).jpg

Whilst these things certainly are variants of freedom, I find that lately, I’ve been yearning for a certain kind of liberty that is becoming increasingly expensive.

We are slaves to time. We have to wake up, and go to work at a particular time. We have to spend a certain period at a particular place, after which we have to be somewhere else. We eat at certain times of the day. Sleep at the appropriate time and even define ourselves by the 24 hours in a day.

I wish that we would learn to be free, learn to see that time is meant to guide us and not control us. You don't have to be a college graduate, get married or have a house at a particular age. You don't have to be bound by time, laws or opinions. You can be truly free.

Sort:  

I agree completely with everything you've said here. I was just thinking about this exact topic earlier this afternoon. If we are aligned with our true selves and chose happiness and ease in life ... well, that is true freedom. No one can take that type of liberty away from us accept ourselves. Liberty is an inside job! Thanks for your post ... perfect timing. Peace :)

Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you could relate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16