"Me" - the artist behind the art

in #mspsteem6 years ago (edited)

On the invitation of fellow artist @reinhard-schmid, here are a few glimpses of my artistic and life path - which converged early on. American, born in Chicago, I have been living in France since the 1970's

I have done many types of art work over the years, but basically public art was my career. I worked for a city in the U.S., creating murals, sculptures, and mosaics which were designed for specific public places. Here is a photo of me working on a large (520 square meters, 1700 sq. ft.) mural in Galesburg Illinois to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Dick Blick art materials company. It was the one job where I got to work on scissor lift scaffolding. I am wearing the striped tee-shirt.
mural-blick.jpg

And here are a couple of pictures of me working on the plasticine prototype of my St. Jean the Baptist sculpture and with my model for my farmer sculpture.
st-jean.jpg

tiller-prog-me.jpg

In addition, I spent years going to, and painting, French Reunion Island, then India. I am still in my India phase. Here I am with my favorite tree in the Lal Bagh botanical garden in Bangalore, India.
lal-bagh.jpg

The visit of my Indian meditation master to my studio in 2008:
Master-w-painting.jpg

Dancing with Indian friends to celebrate Diwali, the Indian festival of lights dedicated to the Goddess of knowledge, wisdom and learning, Saraswati.
diwali2014.jpg

Working in my Paris area studio as it looks today:
my-studio3.jpg

With family in the Val d'Oise, France. My "significant other" is the man with the orange tee shirt.
a&k (1).jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @kathleenscarboro.

What a story.....what a journey!

Appreciate the photographs...a lovely composition you have put together here.

All the best.

Cheers.

Thank you @bentleycapital, it has been quite a ride. The idea was from @reinhard-schmid. If you would like to do the same, I am sure it would be very interesting. If you put artistbehindthearttreat in the tags, our posts will be grouped together.

What a journey it has been! Love the painting at the center of the picture with your meditation master. What prompted the move to France, though? It would be wonderful to see more of your work from the other places you've worked in too.

I'm sure you've met the artists at the Cholamandal artists village. Viswanathan also has his studio in Paris, I wonder if you know each other?

Yes Manouche, I know Viswanathan; I run into him from time to time at the Indian Embassy or at exhibits. We have mutual friends. My meditation master, who is now deceased, was from Chennai. The move to France was prompted by an interest that I had developed for France after having visited the country a few times. I was fascinated by Paris and still love the city. I will continue to post art work from different periods of my life. Thank you for your interest.

Great post. Love to see these behind the scenes images,,,,

Thank you @offgridlife. I usually show the work when it is finished, but progress shots have their own charm. Am following you.

What a wonderful Post Kathleen! Thank you so much for accepting my invitation to do this.

Born in Chicago? I had a place in the Brewster building for almost 10 years and also worked with that crazy Lido Lippi in his "Florence Art conservation", where we did some great jobs in some of the major hotel ball rooms...

Of course, its the art that counts, but I really enjoy having a person to that. Wish we could meet some day!

Thank you @reinhard-schmid, so glad you like it. It is a fun idea. I think it is quite likely that our paths cross one of these days!

I think so too. Maybe we can even show your work here in Viechtach.

I think it would be good, if you changed one of your tags to "artistbehindthearttreat", to have a common tag for all these posts and to make it popular. Can't change the first one, but that's not important anyway. Just use the edit button at the bottom of your post :-)

I changed and added the proper tag. So I learned something! Didn't know it was possible. Happy to participate in anything you suggest.

Glad it worked for you! Now, when you click on it, you see both our posts with the tag while they are active. Hope there will be many more :-)

Super. I will take a look.

WOW. it is very nice that you have interest in every field of art!
I really admire and I appreciate you !!
congratulations, perfect sharing

Thank you @artizm I have done everything I could imagine to earn my living with my art work. I didn't mention in the article that I also worked on theater sets for 14 years in France.

aww...I do not know how to congratulate you!
I applaud.

What a lovely story of the journey of the artist. Travel, influence and passion.

It is funny, @artkapture, one thing led to another. I had no particular strategy, things just came my way. I am well aware of how lucky I have been. Thank you for your interest.

Perhaps it seems like one thing "just" led to another, but you made the decision to take the opportunities that came your way...and made something out of those opportunities.

It was so important for me to be able to do art work - it mattered so much to me.

Oh I forgot this tag: @artistbehindthearttreat and wish to propose @ thermoplastic and @libaws to join the fun.

Otto is already invited. Hehe, @thermoplastic... we are twisting your arm together now, so you better get to it! I know Liba personally, but I hope she will accept the invitation, as I think her "Me" post will be incredibly interesting for everyone too!

Yes Liba's and Otto's posts would be great to see!

Liba, please check this post for the non existing rules ;-)

she said on a Facebook tread that she can't log in to steemit until Tuesday, when she is at work on her computer. That was before you created this tag, I suggested to do an intro post with the tag introduceyourself, so that would be 2 tags to use for her.

Sounds good :-)

Great works, it always makes my day when I find an artist like you! :)

So glad to have made your day! Thanks.

You got a 1.86% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @kathleenscarboro!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Great article and some great comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52