Apsara, an oil painting on the India theme

in #mspsteem7 years ago

Apsaras in Indian religion and mythology are celestial singers and dancers who inhabit the heaven of the god Indra. As ethereal beings who inhabit the skies, they are often depicted in ancient Indian art taking flight, dancing, or at service of a god. They may be compared to angels.

I saw a sculpture of this lovely apsara on a temple in Khajuraho, and included in my painting a modern Indian woman who I met in Chennai with a particularly sweet and charming smile.
APSARA-web.jpg

Sort:  

Great idea about Apsara and beautiful expression in the work!

Thank you. There are so many fabulously beautiful apsaras in India!

You should visit me next time you're in Chennai :) Your work is absolutely beautiful. I'm looking through your blog and I simply love your work.

I may actually make it to Chennai this year! Let's stay in touch. Glad you like the work.

I have had a couple of shows in Chennai at Sarala's Artworld gallery.

When?! I can't believe I missed it! Yes, let's definitely stay in touch. I'm in Seoul now but Chennai is my base so I'm always going in and out.

Oh, it was a number of years ago. Actually I am planning to bring my paintings back from the galleries where they are in Delhi this year; one of the main reasons I need to get back to India in 2018.

Wow ! Beautiful piece of art work my friend. She looks real !!

Thank you @akkha, I am following you also.

Thanks for following my friend ! Lets be in touch !! Namaste !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78