10-Year Loyalty Award Journey

in #mspsteem7 years ago (edited)

For the past 42 days, most of my posts here is all about my job as a barista in Starbucks. 42 days in Steemit with 408 followers, 40SP and 329 posts, is very rewarding, despite the cents amount of upvotes received. So, what? I love what I am doing, and I could share what I can do. And that is, the only secret I hold to reach my 10-year loyalty award yesterday.

27044942_1805902796086697_410706613_n.jpg

How did it Happen?

I started my journey as a part-time barista back in August 2007. I remember back then that I don’t have any idea about coffees. I was overwhelmed by the coffee line-up of Starbucks, why is it a lot, how the taste differs from one another, this was the question running in my mind during my first day.

Before Starbucks

I worked for a small coffee chain for a year before Starbucks sometime in 2006. But I am only after the salary back then, nothing more. I am not happy with what I am doing, more of the times that I am dead-tired. I don’t even have any idea about the coffee that I was serving. But a brewed, black coffee that sometimes mixed with chocolates and milk. But, being a student, as long, as I earn and gain more game-time in Rune Midgard (Ragnarok Online.). I will love it. That is all I care.

And since this coffee shop has an issue with legal, because of not using a POS system, the store was foreclosed by the Bureau of Internal Revenue office.
And that is why I left to search for another job.

God’s will

Searching for another job is not easy. To continue my studies, (so as my gaming), I must find a profitable job that would fit my vacant time from school. But seems luck doesn’t come along with me. I applied as a server in Jollibee and Shakey’s but I didn’t even pass for the second interview. I tried Friday’s and Dencio’s, but these fine-dining restaurants don’t need my experiences.

From Dencio’s (located along EDSA (Efipanio Delos Santos)), I walked under the heat of the sun, along EDSA to reach SM Makati to try my luck. While walking, across the hi-way, I saw a Starbucks Store in Petron Gasoline Station. Back then I don’t have any idea of what Starbucks is. And since it is attached to a name - coffee, I assumed that it is a coffee shop.
Upon reaching our home, I immediately check on the internet if they have an opening for a barista, but guess what, I checked on my e-mail and found out that they have already sent me an invitation for mass hiring screening. So, I joined in.

The initial interview happened at the main office while my second interview brought me to*** Starbucks Petron-Dasmariñas Village***, Yes, that is the store that I walked pass-by during my search for the better one. I thought it was just a coincidence since the store is near to our main office. But I was surprised on my first day, on August 6, 2007 (2 years before bitcoin goes to the moon), my store assignment was that store.
I was hired, started my training and meet other people. It is really is, God’s will.

Journey

The journey did not come easy, I went through ups and downs. More often I failed, I almost give up. My trainers are desperate to teach me. After 2 months, I continued, and told myself, that I am not yet a regular partner (We call employees as a partner), And I need this job to fulfill my dreams. So, I decided to stay, until after two years I was promoted to Shift Supervisor.

I become a Coffee Master as well through hard works to learn more about our coffee line-up. From that moment, I started conducting seminars which I greatly enjoyed. Sharing my knowledge with our customers and co-partners is what I enjoyed a lot.

Then I became a Barista Trainer, in which, I develop newly hired partners to skilled baristas.

Until Now

Until now, being in my dreamed position as Store Manager, developing people, especially my partners is what I love doing. Aside from business reports and hiring people. I enjoyed training and looking for partners that I can develop to success, and be in my position or higher someday.

The fulfillment of bringing these people on top is the greatest success I could ever receive.
And this journey will continue, as long as I can move fast on bar, as long as I can press coffee grounds to on portafilters, as long as I can share my experiences to each and every partner, I will love what I am doing, and forever will pour my heart into it. Maybe not 10 years more, but as long as I can.

Yes! I love what I am doing. And the TEARDROPS that I have upon receiving this award, stores all the memories of hardship and success along the journey.

tear.jpg
Source



Thank You!

Like and Follow TEARDROPS on Facebook by @surpassinggoogle in support of the SMT @teardrops


20171221_211052[1].jpg


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM

DQmcbB1Sq9wLKXAXBdtg95FRwwSNfGvAeYDmQBP2VQCcbAY[1].png

FB_IMG_1516053153789.jpg

Sort:  

Heres a vote fam

This was a wonderful read ! Congratulations, Upvoted :)

Tears of joy, congrats. :)

Yes, @zararina. Priceless. Thank you.

Congratulations Kuya! You deserve it!👏

thanks thanks.. saya!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by davinsh from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Inspiring story man and 10 years of doing something you love is indeed a great milestone.

More than the position and the awards it is the lives of the people you touched that makes it all worthwhile.

You'll do really well in this platform.

Thank you for appreciating brother. No matter what I achieve in this platform, surely, you'll be a head of us. 👌

Lol I am not here to race anyone but rather I want to help everyone get to the destination where we are given such an awesome opportunity to do good.

Together is better
-Simon Sinek

But I will be the proud-est if you would be. haha. We will get to our destination as one, through you @maverickinvictus.

Bless you with your journey bro!

thanks bro!👌

what an honest post

As I always am, @colonel24. By the way, your profile picture makes me hungry.lol

Congratulations po! During this time when it's almost easier to leave a job that you don't like and just find another, it's inspiring to see someone who actually stayed and is currently happy and fulfilled despite the failures. It only shows that failures are part of one's success, as long as we do not give-up.

Thank you for sharing this!☺

Yes @superstarxtala, I love what I am doing, and I can't any reason yet to leave it for another.. may be when I became one of the whales..

Haha im sure you can do it! Steem on!👊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89