Minnow Mayor Town Hall tonight! Starts at 8pm EST 0100 UTC (1 hour from now)

in #msp-waves6 years ago

Toying around with this new logo. Working with a new introduction. The music is still by @soundwavesphoton cause it's severely dope as fuck. The video work is by @hardikv. Check it out.

What is the Minnow Mayor Town Hall?

So, I founded the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network Discord server. It houses the Minnow Support Project, which is a witness run public organization that is designed to live up to the mission: Spread the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty, help grow the Steem ecosystem, and train and retain minnows on the platform.

Within that a team built a streaming internet broadcast station called MSP-Waves. The station now has 16+ DJs and over 30 hours a week of content on the station. I have three shows that I run.

I run the Peace Academy with @isaria. It's a show designed to help people figure out how to apply the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty in their lives. That show airs on Saturday nights at 9pm EST (0200 UTC)

I run a Saturday morning panel discussion every week. It's a rotating forum. The second Saturday of every month is Sounds of Steem and we bring on the amazingly talented musicians from the Steem network to perform live. I also run the Steem Panel Discussion on the last Saturday of every month. I gather top 20 witnesses and some backup witness, maybe Steemit employees, and a handful of whales and get to talking about what's happening on the Steem network. The other Saturday's I pick a demographic on the block along any line that interests me and gather people up. Next week is music, the week after that is unknown... maybe fiction writers, week after that is MSP moderators, and after that is the Witness again.

MSP15k

It started a while back, but when we hit something like 5,000 Steemians in PALnet I made a post saying we were a city and I was it's mayor. I'm sticking with the riff. We're up to nearly 15,000 Steemians. We're probably going to hit it this week. We hand out 2-4 thousand votes a day from @minnowsupport, which thanks to some epicly awesome people has around 125k steem power that it uses to award minnows who are just starting.

As part of that I decided that we need more transparency from elected witnesses, Steemit Inc employees, and more communication across the network as a whole. I created a music show at first, but once I figured out how to handle the show I turned it into a Town Hall format. Anyone can come on and talk about anything. We have very few rules, which basically amount to be intentionally rude or harmful to other people. You're welcome to disagree with whatever, talk about whatever, promote whatever, and so on, but we have a pretty simple low bar that we don't bend. Be at least professional, and try to be kind.

You're welcome on air!

So, I usually spend between 5-30 minutes talking to people on air. Some folks come on and perform. Some people come on and promote a cause or project. Some newbies just want to introduce themselves. Some people have a bone to pick with me. It's all welcome. I try to field questions the best I can and I try to help people in general. A lot of folks that come on my show get resteems and their projects and accounts get a nice boost.

Simply put, people do business with people they know. Once I know people I'm far more likely to help them at least with resteems. At the moment I can get around 35,000 accounts to see a post between @aggroed, @minnowsupport, and @lovejuice. Sometimes I'll even pitch projects to whales and large follower accounts to get your stuff even more noticed or rewarded. There's some overlap on those accounts, but the point is that it's a lot and especially minnows I can try to help catapult off to a nice start.

So, here's your chance. Come talk to me. Choose the topic. Choose the act. Choose the whatever. You get at least 5 minutes and maybe more. Just know this is "Do no harm, but take no shit" country. If you come aggitated and looking for a fight you'll likely find yourself on the ban list. Professional disagreements are welcome. Personal attacks are not. Got it?

What to do?

Hop into PALnet Discord.
Register if you haven't (you get dmed instructions).
Then join the mspwaves-audience channel or to skip all that just listen via mspwaves.com/listen.
There's a text channel too so you can interact with me or the guests.

Dice Bitches

Some time during the show we'll play dice. Should be fun! 25 SBD is up for grabs.

Here's the deal.

I roll, then you roll.
If you tie or beat my roll you go onto the next round.
If you don't tie or beat my roll don't roll again.

If I win once we play again. If I win twice I'll host a 1 time roll off.

How to roll t!dice 10d10 in the first round t!dice 9d9 in the second round and so on.

Delegation

I changed my mind on personal delegations. I don't think they did what I wanted them to do. So I'm switching to delegating to an account called @msp-active. It has 5k on it now. It should have 10k on it soon. I add people that are active listeners or active chat participants in PALnet. Delegators to Minnow Support Project projects can get higher amounts, active people get higher votes, and I reserve the right to boost or diminish vote values whenever.

If you feel like you contribute a lot to mspwaves listenership or are an active chatter but aren't getting the vote contact me in Discord. Give me a 1-2 setence description of what you do and why you should be on it. I'll review it.

In the comments below

Lemme know what you think of the new logo and intro. I'm excited to see what you have to say.

Dlive

I'm gonna try using dlive tonight. Looks like I can run two OBS instances simultaneously and send a feed to both. Should be fun! We'll see how that goes.

Sort:  

Oh dlive- hope it works!!

I do not know why they did not mount the presentation dtube, I have some observations to the logo. I think using the movement of the traditional atom was a bit simple.

I think we should innovate a bit more and advance in quantum science, especially in its concept of growth and energy. I think the concept of the fusion of the hardrones and the construction of the Universe in the dark mass is very similar to what we want to do in steemit.

I think it is not well achieved ... but it is already an advance. congratulations to the team.

I actually really like the logo, it's not cheesy at all (some fish logos can be) and I think it fits the feel of the show. And yeah...Sounds Intro is dope...dont change that or the show will be ruined 😜

Pretty sick logo. Im digging it hardcore. Its classy and the fish is perfect. Nice work.

Wow! Thank you so much for posting this @aggroed and for giving me the opportunity. I am excited (and nervous) to read the feedback.
Also, I am so looking forward to the next Sounds of Steem and hoping my band can be on that 😊✨🙏🏻

I run the Peace Academy with @isaria. It's a >show designed to help people figure out how to apply the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty in their lives.
Amazing thanks so much for your support for helping newbies...you such a wonderful and shareful leader...a work well done on the project @aggroed... @isaria thanks for your support for running the academy together

This post was helpful, thank you...
Steem on
I love this in particular:

We're up to nearly 15,000 Steemians. We're probably going to hit it this week. We hand out 2-4 thousand votes a day from @minnowsupport, which thanks to some epicly awesome people has around 125k steem power that it uses to award minnows who are just starting.

It is getting better by the day!

A good intiative i would love to be part of. Keep the good work going.

Its beautiful. Truly people do business with people they know. The first thing one should do as a minnow is to mingle, make friends and love people. By so doing, other people will recongnize it

I like the logo, could use a bit of color in the pink family i think :)

Wow....dope logo for a dope broadcast station. You guys are really doing great . informative and Educative . kudos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56