THE HANDMAIDEN – an amazing romance drama directed by Chan-wook Park - REVIEWsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #movies7 years ago

The Handmaiden (Ah-ga-ssi) is a 2016 South Korean film directed by Chan-wook Park. He is recognized as a maestro of cinematography. I think you may know his films such as Oldboy (Oldeuboi, 2003), Crush and Blush (Misseu Hongdangmu, 2008).

Asian films make me trembling. It is an unexplored territory. Asian movies, even entertaining ones, is worth watching with clear mind, without worries or thoughts about problems. Do not eat popcorn, please, just make yourself comfortable, turn off the phone and enjoy the incredible picture and Asian beauty.

photo

At first sight, the story seems quite simple. The 30s, Japanese-occupied Korea. A rogue sends a young handmaiden – Sook-Hee - to the rich house. She will attend to a young heiress - Lady Hideko. He is going to marry her and take her money. The role of a handmaiden (because she is always next to her mistress) is to convince her that the rogue really loves her.


photo


photo

However, after a while, we see that the story of the heroes and the plot is deeper than it might seem at first glance. The director leads us through the story, luring into a colorful picture.

Watching the movie, I caught myself forgetting to breathe. I was delighted with what I saw. It is as if I transferred from Earth to Mars at a moment. Imagine my unreal extreme feelings.


photo

There are erotic scenes in the film, but that is not a simple sexual act, but art of the highest class. The embodiment of love in the animal instinct of sex is necessary for heroes in order to feel a sense of freedom for the short moment that this love lasts.

I will not spoil, however, I cannot help but touch upon one moment. You’re the ones to decide to watch this movie (however I strongly recommend doing this). The main character - the beautiful Lady Hideko - reads a book for the gathered men. She is so amazingly beautiful at this moment. Lady Hideko reads with trembling expressiveness, she makes sweeps with her hands, showing what is happening in the book. As soon as she finishes, all sitting men and I got more than aesthetic pleasure. If you know what I mean, it’s the real magic of the movie.

The film is divided into three parts. The story will surprise you repeatedly with incredible twists during the story.

Do not watch the trailer of The Handmaiden. It can’t reflect the essence of the film. That is why, I will not put trailer in this post.
I highly recommend to watch The Handmaiden. Do you like intellectual cinema? Watch. Love beauties? There are two of them. Love romantic dramas? Then this movie is just for you. Women's love? There will be tender love. Acting? Actors seem to live in the frame. What else? Of course, the camera work from the famous Jeong Jeong-Choon.

At the end, I want to tell you only one thing. If I had the opportunity to erase the memory to watch this movie again, I would have done it.


IMDB 8.1
The film was selected to compete for the Palme d'Or at the 2016 Cannes Film Festival

Thank your for watching my first review!

Sort:  

hi thats wonderful - i saw thirst in cannes when it was shown. old boy is still my fave!!

Oh wow! I wish to watch this movie in the theater. But still it's a real amazing movie!)

What a detailed review! Thank you! You got me intrigued!

thank you so much! I appreciate that)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68355.06
ETH 2645.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72