Movies for a Lazy Saturday (or Sunday) Morning

in #movies8 years ago (edited)

It's a rare treat to watch a movie in the morning.  You awoke on a bright summer day and everyone around is racing to engage it.  Children are at play and the smell of fresh cut grass floats on a gentle breeze through the open window.  You pour a cup of coffee and indulge a slight sense of guilt mixed with anxiety about your plan for this morning.  You are going to nestle into the sofa and tune out this world despite the excitement outside.  A masterfully realized artificial world awaits.  It has been carefully crafted to arrest you completely and hold you in awe.  When it releases you, you will wonder how the world still exists and the day still so early and full of potential remains.  You have been on a great journey in a mere pinch of time and you will carry the feelings and memories of this experience with you into whatever comes next.


The Rules of the Game | Jean Renoir | 1939 | 1hr 50min


Charade | Stanley Donen | 1963 | 1hr 53min


The Big Blue | Luc Besson | 1988 | 2hr 48min


Chungking Express | Wong Kar-Wai | 1994 | 1hr 42min


The Searchers | John Ford | 1956 | 1hr 59min


I selected the above five films that are perfect for watching on a lazy weekend morning from among my favorites.  I'll let the movie trailers speak for themselves.  These are all classics among their genres, so they should be readily streamable or available at your local independent video rental store.  However, they are ever so obscure enough that hopefully the majority of Steemit readers will find something incredible they didn't know exists.

This is my first post to Steemit.  It was an experiment and a fun diversion.  I hope it is of some interest.


Sort:  

maybe some classic old Basil Rathbone Sherlock Holmes movies. Well, I did say maybe! Thanks for post

I remember watching these with my parents as a kid, but I haven't seen any since. It certainly fits the feeling I was going for. I'll have to check them out again soon. Thanks for the recommendation!

you mean these ;-)

sherlock2f81ac.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52