Perfect reviews of perfect movies - Nocturnal Animals.

in #movies8 years ago (edited)


source

I just got back from Cinema. What can I say? It is one of the best movies, which you can find being aired at this very moment.

What an opening scene, what did you think about it? Ford made fun out of American culture with it. I tend to agree with him on this one.

Amy Adams and Jake Gyllenhaal were splendid as usual. However, Aaron Taylor- Johnson stole the show. He didn‘t get a lot of screen time, but it was enough for him to be nominated for a Golden Globe in best supporting actor category. Good for him.

Interesting fact – this movie is directed by a designer Tom Ford. However, there is not a single clothing piece from his brand, as he wanted to avoid commercial. Good and talented guy.

Before going to see Nocturnal Animals, be alerted that it is a dark and depressing one. You probably knew it from the title and Gyllenhaal‘s presence, but still. My girlfriend is still sad and even said

Who lets them create those movies? What’s the point of spreading such horrible emotions? “

There is a point.

Plot


source

Presence

Susan Morrow (Amy Adams) is a depressed insomniac gallery owner. She does not seem to love her husband and she realizes that he is also a cheating bastard. Mutual ignorance.

So, Susan receives a transcript of a book from her first husband, whom she didn’t see for 19 years or so. That’s quite a huge event that shakes her world just a little bit more. Also, the book is dedicated to her. Susan starts reading.

The book

The plotline is very disturbing. Edward, Susan‘s first husband, in a way writes about himself. He writes about how his wife and daughter were killed and raped by some sick hillbillies, while he was incapable to help.

Tony (Edward’s name in a book) refuses to leave it like that and goes into his revenge mission, helped by a police officer. One thing lead to another and Tony just shoots that sick rapist. He also kills himself… half accidentally.

The past


The lovers still don't know how hard is life

Edward and Susan were happily married for a very little while, until reality kicked in. Susan was raised in a sophisticated family and wanted some luxury in her life, while Edward was struggling with his writing and could not provide. Instant friction.

Susan’s mom told that it will happen, but as Susan hated her mom, she just ignored her and said that she would hate to be like her. Her mom replied

We all eventually end up like our mothers.

(One woman in the cinema sincerely laughed out loud at this point. I guess she can relate)

On top of that, Susan falls in love with a rich and handsome guy (her present husband). If that was not enough, she gets an abortion. Edward was a father. He found out about abortion. That kind of killed their relationship.

Ending


Getting ready for a big date, which never happens

Susan and Edward agree to meet after 19 years. Susan shows up with her best game going on. She even takes off the ring. High hopes. Edward does not show up. Susan’s world crashes again.

Why Edward did not show up? I want to think that it was revenge. Also, as his book was pretty clear reflection of his life with Susan, it is possible that he killed himself. I believe that it might have happened and that would probably kill Susan too.

My thoughts

Well, first of all, I left this movie a little shocked, as it was really powerful and Tom Ford directed it pretty wisely in order to play with the viewer’s feelings.

Secondly, never ever mess up with hillbillies. Especially if any kind of help is like 50 miles away. Just isn’t worth it.

Thirdly, every one of us has something to regret in the past. If we let that feeling grow, we will end bashing our head into and ice-cold wall of depression.

Fourthly, sometimes we are not able to control certain situations. Thinking that we create our own fate is kind of delusional.

Fifthly, does anyone actually uses this word “fifthly?”

Sixthly, some people are just not a match for each other, and no love can solve it. If you mix the best mayo in the world with the best peanut butter in the world, you get the worst salsa in the world. Want to try it?

Seventhly, whenever we do something bad, knowing that we will probably regret it in future… well – we will regret it.

Eighthly, I though a little, and realized that I would most likely go on a personal Vendetta against someone, who would rape/kill my kids. That just feels like a right thing to do, and I don’t even have kids yet.

Conclusion


The guys from frontend

I give Nocturnal Animals 8.5. It was precisely crafted, left me wondering, and avoided all the cliché BS or explaining the obvious. Also, actors' work was almost flawless in my eyes, and that only adds quality to the movie.

Everyone can get something out of this movie. It shows the sad side of our lives, and it leaves you
wondering if there is still anything bright left in this world. I hope there is.


##WritingamigoProfile
##WritingamigoProfile
##WritingamigoProfile
##WritingamigoProfile

For more of my ideas, poems, observations, reviews, and thoughts, you can visit my lovely blog on Facebook!

Any follow, upvote, or(and) resteem is highly appreciated!

My job is to bring quality content to your feed. Your job is to interact (no one loves a nice discussion more than I do)!!!

Have a nice day, my fellow steemers! :)

Sort:  

What do you think of donnie darko? have you seen it?

It has been a while since I've seen it. I really loved it, and I think it is time to re-watch it. As if we try to compare the movies, they are both dark, but Donnie Darko is more mind-fuck with strange shit happening all the time, while this one is kind of realistic.
When I think of a great mindfuck movie, Donnie Darko is always makes the top list. Did you like it yourself?

I found it fascinating.

He creates his own death through some paradox of manifestation or time travel.

Insanely good. Ill have to rewatch it myself.

Have you seen S. Darko? Its the sequel where his sister ends up in a similar mindfuck.

No, I chose not to watch that movie, as it had terrible ratings and reviews. One of those times when they make a sequence just for the money. Or did you like it?

I dont know, I dont listen to reviews. I thought it was just as good or even better. Either way it was a completely new concept.

It means that I have to rewatch D.Darko and watch S.Darko. I will let you know what I think after doing so.

It means that I have to rewatch D.Darko and watch S.Darko. I will let you know what I think after doing so.

Write a review!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51