Perfect reviews of perfect movies: Blade Runner - How real are you?

in #movies7 years ago

First of all, I have no idea how I've waited so long to watch this Ridley Scott's masterpiece. That is a good thing tho because I always love to find a brilliant movie which blows my mind. Blade Runner was exactly that. I expected it to be a good sci-fi thriller, but it surpassed all my expectations and found its way at the top of my favorite movies. Pure classic.

What was so great about this movie? First of all - timing. We must acknowledge the fact that Blade Runner is one of the pioneers of the sci-fi genre and it was definitely a revolutionary piece of art back in the day. It was simple (compared to what we get today) and pure. The soundtrack was on top. The atmosphere was just brilliantly created.

The plot


sourcre

Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford) must destroy 4 replicants (some kind of robots) who came back to Earth with a desire to find their creator and live forever. There are no big turns or twists, and everything evolves pretty slowly to the point when Deckard meets with the last remaining replicant on the roof top. That's when the famous "All the moments will be lost in time like tears... in the rain," monologue happens.

That is all I need to say about the plot because it is hard to add something else. I must say that I was impressed to see that such a cliche (today) plot can evolve into such a brilliant movie.

My thoughts


source

  1. Even though it was never said so, I believe Deckard was a replicant as well. First of all, Ford was acting like a tree, implying that he had no real emotions. Also, the movie made some suggestions, and I decided to believe them. That leaves with the question - how can we ever be sure that we are real?

  2. We, even as humans, act the same way as robots. Our brains are programmed to react to one way or another, and we cannot change that no matter how much we want. It does not matter if we are replicas (who knows?) or humans - we don't have the freedom to control our thoughts and acts. At least not when it matters...

  3. Everything is created by some creator. Who was our creator? How can we know what it wanted from us? Those question will always remain unanswered (hopefully I am wrong), but I strongly believe that we are some stronger forces in the world who control our emotions/actions/whatever else.

  4. We are all powerless against time, the only force which can never lose. Do whatever you want, you will still die one day. That's the only thing I can guarantee you. Well, also Arsenal finishing 4th in Premier League. But that's it.

  5. There are no good or bad creatures. Everyone is just focused on surviving, and I don't know how someone could call those replicants bad... They just wanted to live.

  6. We always have to look at the world through the eyes of someone we judge before we condemn them. There is always a reason.

  7. Ridley Scott is a genius. Period.

  8. We don't know who we are deep down inside. My only suggestion is never to be afraid of what you find out about yourself because it doesn't really change who you were/are/will be. Your actions are what matters.

  9. There is no bigger desire than surviving. Please, remember that when a zombie apocalypse comes.

Sort:  

one of my fav movies tbh.. little slow , but awsome classic love Rutger Hauer acting top notch..

Yup, he did a fantastic job on this one. I couldn't help but like his character

o yea.. do u like fight club?

Good movies friend

Really interesting, thanks for posting!

Havent seen this one either, perhabs its time to give it a shot!
good review!

Interesante post.

Blade Runner es una de mis películas favoritas desde que la vi, hace ya 34 años.

Espero que su secuela no nos defraude, aunque lo veo muy difícil.

Interesting post.
Blade Runner is one of my favorite movies since I saw it, 34 years ago.
I hope its sequel does not disappoint us, although I see it very difficult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86