The Best Marvel Movie Ever... Or the same?

in #movies6 years ago

2000px-MarvelLogo.svg.png

Hello. I'm the cinephile in the group and well, I love movies. I love them. I love them a lot. I even make them or work on them occasionally. I’m not here to discuss that today. Today is my riff on the whole Marvel Cinematic Universe. While, I’m not a hater by any definition, I am getting tired of people telling me that whatever current Marvel film is out is “the best Marvel movie ever,” including the recent Avengers film “Infinity War.” I’m looking forward to seeing it. Don’t get me wrong. It looks fun, exciting and action packed but, without any of these other Marvel movies to back it up, would it still be considered the “best Marvel movie ever?” Without the previous MCU films, would it even be considered a good movie? I am concerned that we are dealing with another interstellar baddie, with world domination/destruction on the brain, forcing his army of baddies to kill/destroy our band of reluctant heroes and the world/universe... which sounds just like the first two Avengers films. Now, I know, it’s formulaic and “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” but, I truly hope it delivers on some OTHER level than just eye candy in Ultra-Super-Mega-Dolby Surround sound. In this day and age, the reason these Marvel films are doing as well as they do is that they up the bar for each film released. Though, there was some disappointment with the Avengers follow up, “Age of Ultron.” The film’s script didn’t do much more than replace Loki and the inter-dimensional alien race of bad guys he led, with Tony Stark’s rogue A.I., Ultron and his various Iron Man-like robot cousin’s. Yes, the stakes were a little closer to home being that Tony Stark was responsible with creating these sentient machines but it wasn’t much more than that. Look, let’s be honest, would “Infinity War” even be considered a movie without all the other films culmination up to this film? Could “Infinity Wars” stand on its own without those films? I’d have to say, probably not. We wouldn’t know these characters the way we do now. The audience would most likely be thrown into a crazy action film with no real depth of character... just a spectacle of sight and sound. Everything critics love to hate.

I look very forward to these movies. Disney and Marvel have created characters and made us care for them... root for them. We laugh with them and want them to prevail as heroes and as people (no matter what race they are). I am hoping this isn’t another “Avengers film” that doesn’t give us much more than a bunch of sight and sound with little substance as some of these super hero films are beginning to feel like they are doing to me. Again, it’s not that I’m not a fan but they are starting to feel a bit underwhelming. PLEASE, don’t give us a debacle that was The Justice League. DC has yet to live up to the Marvel standard as we all know but it’s very easy to fall into that cookie cutter mentality, especially in Hollywood.

Personally, I’ve enjoyed all of the Marvel films, especially Ant-Man, which focused more on being a really well made heist film with superhero overtones and “Captain America: Winter Solider” (where I thought The Russo Brothers really shined, even more so than “Civil War”) which had some of the best political intrigue since “Seven Days of the Condor (PS, that’s an amazing, classic film from the 70’s, also featuring Robert Redford in his heyday, for you youngsters).” I also have to mention the amazing work of James Gunn and his Guardian’s of the Galaxy films, which really had a different feel than the previous Marvel superhero fare and gave the Marvel Universe a kick n the right direction with something that felt different.

But, let’s be honest, the best superhero movie is The Lego Batman Movie.

Stay tuned for more movie and TV talk!



image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Consider leaving a comment, we love rewarding engaging Steemians!

Sort:  

I have to disagree, your argument is that if it wasn't an MCU movie it wouldn't be regarded as good, and while I would somewhat agree that's true, I'd argue it's not fair to consider them without bringing in the Cinematic Universe into the argument. Yeah granted the movies individually don't hold up that well when you compare them to other individual movies. But it's the combination of all these stories, the decade worth of character development that we get to see the impact of characters decisions and there sacrifices.

Thanks for these authentic analysis about mind-blowing movies Captain America is my favourite movie and after this Bat man & movies are good treatment to get rid from boredom @writesbackwards

I concur with you, the thing is that when Disney purchased Marvel every one of the motion pictures progressed toward becoming in a similar content.

Excellent written friend I love the Marvel movies all those super heroes are very brave my favorite is Batman

I agree with you, the thing is that when Disney bought Marvel all the movies became in the same script.

Hi I am movie lover. The guardian 1 is the best. Nowadays too many super heroes movie, and it look same.

These movies are cool but I think honestly that they have to starting making them with better scripts and more meaning

So many superheroes there is no end to it but in real life we hardly saw one

I love Dr stranger..... However i agree with you that movies these days are having the same storyline; that's not cool @ ol

nice post👏👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81