Cinema Is A Mirror

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Cinema is a mirror of reality and it is a filter.

Call Me By Your Name is one of those films I can’t say a lot about, and I may push the boundaries and say more about it than I should.

It’s a tremendous film. Worthy of a best picture nomination, to be sure, but if you ask me, it has enough flaws to keep it from winning. On the other hand, it tells a very timely story and sheer emotion may give it the win. I wouldn’t be surprised either way.

The locations were beautiful, as were the people.

The story unfolded in a way that had me wondering “where is this all going?” - but in a positive way, similar to the feelings I had when I first read Hemmingway.

The acting was superb. This morning I read this in the Boston Globe’s review:

You may not realize how strong the acting is until you replay the movie in your head later. - Ty Burr, Boston Globe

I couldn’t agree more. I had the same experience.

I thought Timothée Chalamet was fantastic from start to finish, and I thought the other performances were solid, but it wasn’t until I started discussing the film with my daughter that I realized how good everyone else was too.

You should see this film. You may certainly have a different experience than the person sitting next to you, but I am fairly certain the film will move you.

You’re too old not to accept people for who they are.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by whs from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54396.77
ETH 2275.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31