Sort:  

That would be 28 Months later, in case that ever gets made. I'm really sad about the zombie craze in the last decade, wish it would have just stayed with the 28 series of movies and freakin "walkin dead" would have never been made, it's such utter trash I think. 28 days later is still one of my favorites, it's so freakin intense.

Then there was the promising movie adaption of Stephen King's The Long Walk, which was totally captivating and eerie beyond belief as audiobook. Darabont had the rights and vision to make it low budget and existential, but sadly sold them to some other dude, not sure how that is going to turn out now ;)

I especially liked the first 28 movie. Don't remember enjoying 28 Weeks a lot but I might have liked it.

I agree, there has been a zombie craze lately for sure. Perhaps it's just a reflection of what happens in society as that is what zombie movies are often inspired by.

I don't think The Walking Dead is utter trash but I merely watched two seasons or so because there was something addictive ( hollywood formula/ magic potion ) to it. Can't say I liked it very much though.

I don't remember having read The Long Walk, eventhough I devoured King's books as a teenager.

Darabont low budget sounds intriguing. Can't say I liked The Mist too much. The cgi creature was one of a few elements that spoiled it for me.

Thanks for leaving a thoughtful comment and bye for now!

The Lunch Box was exceptional. Love it. I was a bit bored with A Ghost Story. The Disaster Artist is worth watching. It is like watching a train wreck. But I enjoyed it. You have quite a few interesting films listed. I guess I should check out the website...

Thanks for summarizing how you liked those three films. I still feel like watching all three of them.

Expect me to always have interesting films to watch. That happens after studying films for two and a half decades, both obligatory - in Uni - and out of love for the medium / artform :>)

P.S. Give Letterboxd a try. You might actually like it.

I started filling out my letterbox. I am over 1000, but it takes a while to work through all the films. They have a pretty comprehensive list.

I will check out some movies from the list and thanks @vincentnijman that you shared this with us.

You're welcome and good to see that you're still around.

There is not a copy of Dersou Uzala out there that is not terrible quality unfortunately. Weird ass color issues. Brutal.

That's a shame as it's probably the only Kurosawa film I haven't seen that I really felt like watching. Have you seen any of those weird ass colored versions? :>)

Hahaha... Why your watched list has Sharknado?!! I've been able to avoid that absurdity successfully till now. :-)

But having second thoughts recently.

I remember it playing on TV/ SyFy channel. It must have been either the title or the talk that I'd heard about it ( possibly the former ) and it was a battle to sit through. It might actually have been the commercial breaks that saved me, for a change.

Nuf' said :>)

P.S. Don't watch it!

Before I forget: your comment is doing the opposite of what I hoped would happen --> talking about movies that we actually want to see

Feel free to comment again ;>)

Some good choices here! The Wages of Fear is one of the greatest suspense films ever made. It was remade in the late 70s by Friedkin as Sorcerer, with Roy Scheider in the lead, which was pretty good, but not as good as the original. I recommend watching both. Prince of the City is one of the greatest film noirs ever made; it's a masterpiece. Fail Safe I remember as also being extremely suspenseful.

Movies I want to see but never seem to get around to watching: Black Narcissus, The Red Shoes, and Eyes Without a Face. The Red Shoes is Scorcese's favorite film.

I have always had some difficulty with Powell/ Pressburger movies. Although I like most of Scorcese work, especially pre 2000s, I don't necessarily like all movies that influenced him. The Red Shoes wasn't my kind of movie. I think you'll like Eyes Without a Face

Not sure why I've never seen The Wages of Fear. Although, I do know... Years ago, I only had a French download without subs and I didn't feel like watching that with my 4 years of high school French in a distant past. Sorcerer is, without a doubt, one of my favorite (1970s) action flicks!

Hearing Prince of the City I can't help thinking of Carpenter's Prince of Darkness that I gave a second watch lately. Just checked the trailer and found out that it's a 1980s noir by Sidney Lumet, awesome! Above all, it's from my birth year, 1981. Thanks for the recommendation! Fail Safe will be added to my watchlist too.

Thanks :>)

P.S. I just discovered I already had the above 2 films in my watchlist. Didn't know much about them and do now, thanks to your comment, haha!

I love Lumet also. Seriously underrated as a director--he deserves to be in the same category as Kubrick, Hitchcock, Scorcese etc. Have you seen his last film, Before the Devil Knows You're Dead? Lumet at 85 made better films than most directors "in their prime" make today. It's good, but it's pretty damn grim though.

I picked those films to talk about because I saw them on your watchlist, but you had forgotten you had them on it!

Congratulations @vincentnijman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70