Baywatch [2017] - not as bad as I thought it would be!

in #movies6 years ago

As the Baywatch movie came to theaters worldwide in 2017, I steered clear from it. I had no interest in this junk movie at all, and I didn't think more about it after that.

Then, a few weeks ago, a family member for some reason told me how she actually enjoyed the movie as she watched it with her boyfriend. I was clearly surprised by that, and as a result, I decided to go ahead and watch the Baywatch movie from 2017 myself.

Zac Efron in Baywatch.jpg

Back in the days, I watched quite a lot of episodes of the original Baywatch series. Now, I am really curious what it was really like, because the Baywatch movie of 2017 felt more like a parody of the original one, than a "look-a-like." Maybe the original TV series was funny as well, but if it was, I did not get the jokes back then.

Dwayne Johnson as Mitch Buchannon


I am not a big fan of Dwayne Johnson, but I have got to say, his movies are quite easy to like. He is this brutal, cool, funny, strong, good-looking superhero in all his movies, and the same is true about his role in Baywatch. He is out there looking for new people to work by the beach to protect the people, and as a punishment, he has to make Matt Brody (played by Zac Efron) one of his new people. It is a culture crash as Matt Brody is the super cool, Olympic champion, who doesn't take an order from anyone. Mitch doesn't like that, and do not want to have Matt on the team... but he is forced to bring him in.

The Baywatch crew doesn't only help swimmers in danger, but they also work as a sort of local police guard, even though the police doesn't embrace that activity. Quite a lot of drugs have shown up lately along the beach, and someone is deeply into illegal activities. But, who is that, and how can they be stopped?

There are other famous actors also playing in Baywatch, for example, Alexandra Daddario (who also played together with Dwayne Johnson in San Andreas). Pamela Anderson and David Hasselhoff can also be seen for short moments in the movie.

Is Baywatch an enjoyable movie?


To be honest, I was surprised as I watched it. I am not sure if I consider Baywatch to be a comedy with action or an action movie with lots of jokes, but it could fit into both categories. They are joking a lot with the Robbie (Jon Bass), a guy playing the lame want-to-be-part-of-the-Baywatch-team, and also a guy who is totally in love with C. J. Parker. He totally freezes whenever C. J. Parker comes near to him, and this always leads to funny and awkward situations.

ronnie and cj.jpg

All in all, Baywatch is an enjoyable movie if you just want an easy-to-watch comedy with some action for the evening. If you are not in the mood for stupid jokes and big muscle humor from Dwayne Johnson, go watch something else instead!

Have you seen Baywatch? How did you like it? I would love to hear your thoughts.

You can currently watch Baywatch on streaming services like Amazon Prime and Hulu in the United States.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85