Ten Reasons I'm Bored with the Oscars

in #movies4 months ago

Ten reasons I'm bored and do not care about the Academy Awards this year (or really anymore these days):

  1. The Holdovers - Very good movie that (sadly) doesn't have a prayer.

  2. American Fiction - Feels like the token indie nominee. Didn't see it (might). Smells woke but could be a clever satire.

  3. The Zone of Interest - The only movie on this list that people will be talking about for years, maybe decades. The one that should win but like so many "classics" doesn't have a chance in hell.

  4. Barbie - Yuck.

  5. Oppenheimer - Overrated. Overwritten. Overblown.

  6. Poor Things - Too stylish and self-indulgent for me to get through the trailer. Yorgos needs a bomb/failure to get back on track.

  7. Past Lives - Probably as good as everyone says. It will not take the trophy even if it's better than the rest. I do need to see this one and...

  8. Anatomy of a Fall - ... this one, though I heard it wasn't near as good as reported.

  9. Maestro - another boring biopic vanity project. Yawn.

  10. Killers of the Flower Moon - I couldn't get over DiCaprio's terrible, phony-sounding accent in the trailer so I certainly couldn't sit through 2 plus hours of it.

Two movies that I loved last year that would never have made this "Best Picture" list: THE KILLER and KNOCK AT THE CABIN. Excellent craftsmanship and lean, mean storytelling is out of fashion.

Also published on my Travis Mills Filmmaker Facebook page

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58097.54
ETH 3176.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28