5 Mind Blowing Films that will Actually Blow Your Mind if You Feel like I Did when I Watched them

in #movies7 years ago

There's an incredible aumont of great movies out there.
And it is a fact that many of them don't receive the right appreciation or fame.

It happens all the time and not only with films. Books, music, art may often have the same destiny.


Honest underrated movies quote. Source

This is maybe good from one hand, because all these opera will stay sheltered from the mainstream grinding machine. Even though they become sort of like those protected natural parks, which are incredibly awesome places but nobody knows or gives a fuck about, you know?

And it's maybe not right on the other hand because they just don't get what they deserve. I'm not saying they should win an Oscar, because maybe they wouldn't even compete for one. They wouldn't manage to enter any category.
They need some different prize. A different attention.

I'll try to list some movies that I think are in this category and meant something to me when I watched them. As I wrote in the title they actually blew me away.

I think that the enjoyment of a film is really connected to the mood you're in when you watch it. How you feel in that moment of your life, or more specifically of your day. I've seen films that I didn't like at all, but that I fell in love with after watching them years later. And viceversa.

I know who I was when I got up this morning,
but I think I must have been changed
several times since then.

  • Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass

Because you're moody and you know it. Everybody is.

So this doesn't make them masterpiece or must-watch. They were just significant to me and maybe if you are feeling like I was when I watched them, they might add a little bit of sugar to your deadly routine.


Me when I talk about films (from Amour, by Michael Haneke)

MR NOBODY

by Jaco Van Dormael, 2009

Mr Nobody is a trip. It's a mind fuck with amazing visuals, and a pretty catchy film, too. I watched it many years ago, but I still remember how much I was engaged watching it.
If it's legal to smoke weed in your country, it may help you to enjoy it and maybe discover some hidden deep meaning I wasn't able to catch being lucid.


See what I'm talking about?

Go watch it right now if your mood is: blueish, you are around your 20s (I mean, I was but that's not so important). You're curious for the different and artsy things, looking for creativity, inspiration. Into family dramas, crazy aesthetics and cool philosophical movies. If you liked Sliding doors or Blind chance. Or if you don't know/don't care what the fuck I'm talking about, maybe you'll just like Jared Leto. And Diane Kruger.

VICTORIA

by Sebastian Schipper, 2015

Victoria is awesome. I have friends who watched it and were like “yeah, it's ok... Kind of boring sometimes... But in the end, yes, good one!”. And other friends who just watched it 7 times. No jokes. So this is the kind of film I'm talking about.

The premise you should know about this film is a filmmaking-geek thing.
The movie has NO editing. It is one, REAL (not like Birdman) long take.
It was shot in Berlin in one night, from 4 am to 6.40 am. It's all real time, there's not one single cut. This is unbelievable and I think that more than everybody, the cinematographer was a hero. Because he was running around Berlin for more than 2 hours non-stop, carrying a camera. And he could screwed it up every moment.


The sound recordist was a hero too actually

When you watch the film you actually don't notice all this. You are just there. With them, in Berlin. I watched it only once, but it literally grabbed me by the collar and threw me on the streets of Berlin, following the crazy one night adventure of Victoria and the wild German bunch she meets in a techno club. I was there for 2 hours and a half and it was amazing.

If your mood is: “I want to go out tonight, have some shots, dance like stupid and have a fucking crazy life-changing adventure”, if you like realism. If you like that feeling of waking up from a super realistic bad dream and say “Thank God, it was just a dream”.

Tip: don't watch the trailer. Just watch the film and discover the story with the characters.

TANGERINE

by Sean Baker, 2015

Tangerine is an hard one. We are in LA and we follow a transgender prostitute, just released from jail, looking for her pimp-boyfriend to kick his ass because she is sure he was cheating on her while she was detained.

The film is haunting. The style and the colors might give you the feeling you are on ecstasy, listening to trance music. Some scenes dig into the dirty business of prostitution and can be hard to digest, for how realistic and raw they are. The story is engaging and sentimental in its own way.

Again, everything is much more interesting if you consider that the entire film was shot on an Iphone 5s. That's right, 3 of them to be correct. If you are a geek this is already a good enough reason to watch it.
Otherwise, consider it has a great acting mixed with a solid, well written script. It goes from raw moments to profound and touching ones, to end up in a very interesting weird-funny way.

If your mood is: super angry on the surface, but you know you are a small cute puppy inside only looking for some love.

EX MACHINA

by Alex Garland, 2016

This one is great. Ex machina is an elegant dystopian sci-fi movie that might happen for real maybe in 50 years from now. It's also a thriller and a great story. It will sensually hypnotize you.


This scene is already History of Cinema

If your mood is: paranoid about the future of technology and AI, misanthropic, a little nerd. If you love great aesthetics, some good acting and crazy VFX, serving a very well written engaging story.

MOEBIUS

by Kim Ki-Duk, 2013

Moebius is sick crazy shit. You won't stop watching it, though. Just to see where else it can go. I don't feel like telling you what the plot is about, because it'll be hard to not spoil all the WTF moments of the film. It is an extreme film about sex/sexuality, violence and family with a little pinch of incest. You got the picture maybe.

I've always been fascinated with Kim ki-duk as he is a self-made filmmaker. He always dares and provokes the audience with challenging movies.
This one is not only challenging in the plot, but also in the style he adopted. Because there's not a single dialogue in the entire film. It's a 90 minutes silent trip that he personally wrote, directed, produced, shot and edited. This is what I meant by self-made.

If your mood is: bored with your life and curious about a new kind of experience, that will punch you right in your guts. Kind of dark. You have a sense of humour and you just want to watch something different.

For now my memory is calling time-out. As the main character from Amour stated above, I don't remember the titles but I rather remember the feelings.
I'll post more titles as I come up with them.
Thank you for stopping by.

love
franek

Sort:  

I've watched Mr. Nobody, a very good movie!

that one is a good one! :)

The only I've watched is Ex Machina. Creepy robot. Now I'm tempted to check out the others :)

Creepy Robot can actually be an honest title for Ex Machina 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66437.31
ETH 3491.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69