The Strangers: Prey At Night- Movie Revie

in #movies6 years ago

hero_Strangers-2018.jpg
Image from 2018 film The Strangers: Prey At Night

This movie has seriously mixed reviews right now, Roger Ebert.com loves it while two of my favorite internet critics hate it.I went to see the film myself recently and I rather enjoyed myself, the movie has its cons but overall is a classic throwback to the old-school slasher genre while being an entertaining sequel as well.

Despite being a gimmick that has been used a lot recently I absolutely love the 80's vibe in this film. The film is a sequel to 2008's The Strangers which is a scary film but lacks the fun factor that Prey At Night has. The first film was good but led to a disappointing and extremely depressing ending. While the main characters in Prey At Night are as equally stupid and annoying as the protagonists of the first at least they actually grow the balls to fight back in this one.

The movie is also extremely short which is good for this type of movie, no one wants a 2 hour run-time in a slasher film. The film is no masterpiece but is a fun throwback slasher movie and is a sequel that surpasses the first which took itself a little too seriously. I also would like to note that the film has a few jump-scares but rather than using that lame "DUN" sound they use organic sound which is much more effective and less cheapening. I give it a 4 out of 5!

Sort:  

excellent writing skills 👉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44